Does Thanksgiving Live Up to the Hype?

16 Nov

And once again this year, just a few weeks before Thanksgiving, I have no clue what I’m doing for the holiday.  I’m visiting family for Christmas, and it’s just my wife and I for now.  But, in the big scheme of things, does it really matter?  Okay, yes – I get it.  Thanksgiving is a time for giving thanks.  We all know that, and I can respect that as well.  But, when you really think about the day, you think of football and eating.  Well, at least I do.  And the buildup to the day starts staring you down immediately after Halloween (actually, it’s usually a few weeks before).  What to do?  Where to go?  Yes, you’re supposed to spend it with loved ones and family.  And yes, you’re supposed to have the turkey and gravy and carve the turkey and eat the stuffing and that dreaded canned cranberry sauce that nobody likes but it’s just there every year for some reason.  And you’re supposed to have the Macy’s parade on and then the football game where we know the Detroit Lions are playing in and everyone gets tired after everything and talks about nap time and OKAY!  ENOUGH!

Can’t we just order pizza?

The buildup for the big day is just one thing, but all of the extravagant extras that are supposed to be included are something else.  And frankly, I’m not a huge turkey fan.  I’m serious about ordering a pizza.

It’s just, like, so routine it seems.  The MUSTS that have to be there.  And so what happens is often times Thanksgiving isn’t even enjoyed that much because of all the cooking, the cleaning up, dishes and preparation for it.  It’s like trying to enjoy a dip in the pool but there’s the changing, getting used to the water, showering and everything that goes along with doing so, that often times you get out of your swim feeling cold and wet.  Worth it?  Sometimes.  But unless it’s a HOT day out – a warm bath might of been better.

Above:  Norman Rockwell sets the bar to what it’s SUPPOSED to look like (notice the canned cranberry sauce)

In my experiences, the best days are the days that aren’t prepared.  Those days that you just “wing-it” and go with the flow.  And I understand if you have 30 + family members about to head over expecting food that you must prepare.  Of course.  But, maybe we should tone-down Thanksgiving a little bit?  Just a little?

It’s a day for thanks.  So, with that being said, how about we just leave it at that?  Thanks.

But the day isn’t just that.  It’s the kickoff to the holidays and more.  And I know me talking about it on here isn’t going to change a thing.

I’ve had enjoyable, extravegent Thanksgivings before.  The BIG ONES like they show on all the commercials on television (or that Rockwell up above – with the canned cranberry sauce).  They’re alright.  But, it’s just so much.  I’m not a simple person either, but I do like the idea of some change during the holidays.  That’s what’s great about Christmas.  You know the gifts are at least bound to be different.  And nobody gets sick of hearing Grandma Got Ran Over By A Reindeer.  (On a side note, that’s something I can at least be thankful about:  No Thanksgiving music. Could you imagine a Justin Bieber Thanksgiving Album?  I’d probably be on suicide watch.)

If it were up to me, every Thanksgiving would be a bit different.  Different food, different football teams playing the NFL game, different floats in the Macy’s parade (I just thought of that – the floats – every year, are the same, aren’t they?).  I dunno.  Just a little change.  That way if the turkey wasn’t carved – it’s not a huge deal.  It would be normal, because there might be Won-Ton soup instead.

And lets toss the canned cranberry sauce out.

Above:  Does anyone really eat this?

Family get-together?  Sure!  But how about takeout orders and paper plates?  Not EVERY year, but just on occasion to mix-it-up.

Just some change.  And that way maybe more attention is spent on the ‘giving thanks‘ part.

I hope I’m not coming across as bitter or upset about the holiday (which I probably am because sometimes I’m awful at expressing myself) but in my experience, it seems as though there is way too much familiarity with Thanksgiving.  And usually, I do enjoy the day.  But, I personally do get wrapped up in the expectations of the day as well.

I would mix-it-up more with going to different places every year, but even when that occurs, there are still all the similarities surrounding it.  But, at least that’s one change.  Different homes and family.  Good idea.  Check!

Overall, despite the hype of the day, it’s here for a reason.  I mentioned the ‘giving thanks’ part (like a good blogger should), but it seems as if some routines are just that – routine – and I don’t know if that’s such a good thing.   I personally sometimes feel a bit ostracized if involvement on my part isn’t in check.  Not by others, but just internally.  I think to myself,  “I should be enjoying this or doing that.  Should I get seconds?  Sure!  Okay, now I’m stuffed.”  And so, I go eat more turkey.  But also let it be known:  I WILL NEVER touch the canned cranberry sauce.

So, what AM I going to do this year?  After typing all of this, guess what?  It’s still undecided.  But, I can predict that most of the usual’s will be along with me for the ride.  I’m also guessing that the stuffing will make an appearance, as will the Lions.  A turkey will be cut and a parade will be on.  Oh well.  Maybe the routine of the holiday isn’t that bad.  See – I’m already caving.  Forget change, I’m celebrating it like everyone else.  Forget the pizza.  Bla!

And did I mentioned canned cranberry sauce?

6 Responses to “Does Thanksgiving Live Up to the Hype?”

  1. Miss Demure Restraint November 16, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    Having Chinese delivered and watching sci-fi movies . . . celebrating the things I love and being thankful to be able to do it.

    And NOBODY eats that gelatinous red stuff, ever!

    • Nate Fakes November 17, 2011 at 5:55 am #

      Now that sounds like fun! (Picturing Twilight Zone marathon and egg rolls.)

      I figured that gelatin stuff was there just for looks

  2. gardenfreshtomatoes November 17, 2011 at 4:44 am #

    I used to make lasagne instead of turkey every few years…
    NO ONE gets holiday burn-out like retail food folks do – and I spent 20 years there.
    Whatever you decide to do, PLEASE be extra-kind to the grocery store employees next week. 🙂
    As for us, well…I’ll tell everyone soon enough!

    • Nate Fakes November 17, 2011 at 5:57 am #

      I’m always nice to grocery store folks. I’ve seen one too many instances where they’re NOT treated good, so I’ve got their backs.

  3. bearman November 17, 2011 at 4:51 am #

    I’d prefer to order pizza since I hate real turkey (now some processed turkey I love)

    • Nate Fakes November 17, 2011 at 5:57 am #

      Right on. I wouldn’t say I HATE turkey, but I don’t exactly love it or crave it. And don’t get me started on all the leftovers…

Leave a Reply

