The Week of Cartoons Nov. 7 to Nov. 13

14 Nov

And here it is again.  A look back at last week’s Break of Day cartoons.  So, it’s just like a DVR, except without the annoying commercials you would typically have to fast forward through.  Instead, you have annoying words you can do that with.

I’m starting to become accustomed to regular blog postings now.  I’ve been doing pretty well over the course of the last several months, so any readers that are afraid I might “take-off” and hit my inconsistency stride like I have in the past – I can confidently say that I plan on having regular updates.  Daily?  Maybe some weeks.  But at least three solid post a week are a guarantee.  If for some reason I’m not able to do any post on here, I’ll have my intern do them (I just have to find one that will work for free).

So, with all that being said, one of the features I want to keep regular is The Week of Cartoons series – like you’re about to read now.  Every Monday I should have one sitting here.  If I can’t for some reason, I’ll leave an apologetic letter and fire any intern that was responsible for creating it.

Okay, I’m done babbling about things.  On with last week’s ‘toons.

Above:  November 7th Cartoon

I’m a little accustomed to writing about The Wright Brothers for several reasons.  One is – I went to Wright State University.  Two is – well – here’s a question:  Where is Wright State University located?  Give up?  Whatever.  You didn’t even try to guess.  Dayton, Ohio, silly!  And so therefore, I lived in Dayton for quite awhile.  And where did the Wright Brothers come from?  Good guess!  I think you got this one.  Dayton!  So, I’ve got Wright written all over me (not really, but I could if I had a magic marker or crayon).

I also used to be the cartoonist for The Guardian, which was the school newspaper at Wright State.  In the masthead, I was labeled ‘graphic artist’ – but really I just drew two cartoons a week (one political and one Break of Day) and a few advertisements here and there.  Graphic artist use computers, and at that time (we’re talking circa 2003-2004) I never once even attempted any graphics on the computer.  These cartoons at the time were done in marker and occasional dip pen and India ink (which I use today).  The comics I did for the Guardian were awful.  If I muster up enough nerves, I might post them on here.  However, just like early No Doubt music, it’s best left in the past.

Above:  November 8th Cartoon

I drew this cartoon from remembering how I’ve always heard about all the spiders that a person eats while they’re asleep.  I don’t know how true that is.  I mean, I’ve never seen a spider crawling around in my mouth.  However, I have woken up on occasion with a sudden urge to get on the web, so there might be a connection there.

Above:  November 9th Cartoon

Sometimes I see on television these obedient dogs that seem miserable.  They don’t seem to want to enjoy life anymore – like they’ve given up or something and just ‘obey’ their master.  Modern slavery?  Okay, probably not.  And these dogs probably have it pretty good.  But, they’re still stiff to me.

I have a dog (well, it’s actually my moms dog) that is part Newfoundland and lab.  She is wild, crazy and doesn’t listen to anyone.  And I love her for it.  It makes a pet fun.

I like it when Ursa (I should have mentioned her name earlier) pounces on things and goes crazy when she sees a squirrel.  Or if she is caught grabbing a cookie off the kitchen table.  Hilarious.  And she has inspired numerous cartoons.

So, in some sense, this cartoon is FAR from the truth of my own dog.  She is rambunctious, out-of-control and a complete psychopath on occasion – but we give her the best treats on earth.

Here’ are some pictures:

Above:  Nate and Ursa The Destroyer

Above:  Ursa plotting her next bark against neighbor squirrels

Above:  November 10th Cartoon

This comic didn’t hit home with some people.  And with many others, it did.

Okay, I tend to use a lot of movie references in my work.  Good or bad?  I guess it depends if you saw the movie I reference.  If you never saw the movie Fight Club, then this probably doesn’t make much sense.

If you have, I don’t need to explain the gag to you.  Yes, it’s a pun (which I usually try to avoid), but I like sharks and I liked the movie, so this was truly a favorite of mine.

Don’t get it?  Watch the movie, you slacker.


Above:  November 11th Cartoon

What do Superman and a cartoonist have in common?  Probably a low salary.

Does ‘The Man of Steel’ get paid to save people?  Did he get reimbursed saving millions in tax payer dollars by saving stuff?  I doubt it.  And it’s a tough economy.  Not to mention The Daily Planet (the newspaper where Clark Kent works – AKA Superman) is probably experiencing staff layoffs like every other newspaper across the country.  Therefore (unless he’s still on the Planets payroll) I’m sure Superman might be hurting for some bread.

BUT – he’s got a few qualifications for careers.  One of which could easily be advertising.

Now, I don’t promote Mel’s that is depicted as the ad in this comic.  I don’t know anything about Mel’s, I have no clue what their food is like and take no responsibility for giving them a ‘shout-out’.  But, Superman does promote them.  Try calling the number on the comic and see what they have to say about themselves (if you can get through).  They might have a killer Happy Meal.

Above:  November 12th Cartoon

This comic could easily influence either a children’s book or a horror movie.  You decide.  I like the idea of having the tables turned though.  I might have to have a followup to this one.

Above:  November 14th Cartoon

If you were at one point in time a boy, and you hung out with girls, chances are – you destroyed many of the girls toys.  Including dolls (unless you’re Chaz Bono – I’m pretty sure it could have been the opposite).

Back in the 80’s when I was a toy connoisseur, I can recall constantly breaking off the hands of MY plastic toys.  They were always so cheaply made, and one wrong move, and your Thunder Cat was armless.  And my sisters Barbies and whatever else she had would have a domestic violence lawsuit against me around the time I was eight or so for the amount of brutality I put upon their poor souls (well, plastic souls, if they have them).  Not many survived for long.

And it all comes back full-circle when you grow up and you learn how much certain toys are worth that YOU had when you were a child.  If only they were kept in their box, you could have a mini-retirement fund available if you cashed them in.  Eh, that’s karma for you.

But, where’s the fun of breaking off arms in that?  The answer:  Nowhere

7 Responses to “The Week of Cartoons Nov. 7 to Nov. 13”

  1. campbellsoup614 November 14, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    That is a gorgeous dog!

  2. Miss Demure Restraint November 14, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    I’m torn between the Bite Club and Superman cartoons. Of course, I like them all but those two rock!

    • Nate Fakes November 14, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

      Hey, nothing wrong with being torn. Glad you like!

  3. gardenfreshtomatoes November 15, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    My brother chewed Barbie’s foot off, I poked a hole in Stretch Armstrong…we were even.
    And we both had to clean up the mess…those things were stuffed with corn syrup.
    Blood-colored corn syrup…

    • Nate Fakes November 15, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

      We had the same sort of back-and-forth, too. But, I never tried the blood colored syrup. That would’ve made things a bit more interesting as a kid!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Week of Cartoons November 14 thru November 20th « Nate's Ramblings - November 21, 2011

    […] Another cartoon that was inspired from my dog, Ursa!  As you can recall, if you’re an avid reader over here, I posted up some pics of Ursa last week HERE. […]

Leave a Reply

