The Comic is Shining!

1 Nov

So, as a post-Halloween cartoon, I thought today I would put out my Break of Day dedicated to the movie, The Shining, starring Jack Nicholson, among others.

I’m not going to go into details about the plot of the movie here on Nate Ramblings.  I prefer to cheapen this blog by referring you to Wikipedia for that.  CLICK HERE

It’s always been a favorite horror flick of mine.  I like the idea of there not being any cheesy special effects involved in the production and the acting is freakishly realistic.  Well-directed, outstanding story, great plot and acting.  Well, a little crazy at times, but hey – I think anyone crazy enough to try and make it as a cartoonist has to appreciate movies such as this.  Jack Torrance (the name of Nicholsons character in the movie) gets a little irked and – well – possessed and just a little murderous.  Kind of like most cartoonist (except most of us aren’t possessed and don’t hack people up into little bits – but we do get a little frustrated in this profession).

At any rate, I thought of a funny plot to the movie for my work in the medium of my cartoon.

I’ve recieved some interesting responses about it (which I totally expected), but yet, I’m very happy with how it turned out.  I think most people get “the gag” and maybe those that don’t will be possessed to go watch The Shining. (Get it – I said ‘possessed’, tying it into the movie plot – ha!  Er…okay, not that clever.)

Above:  The way Nate looks when he can’t think of a funny cartoon.

Today’s comic is also a great example of how I’m not a great caricature artist.  I was going for the early 80’s era Jack look – and I used the similar looking expression he had from the movie.  Yet, today when people think of Nicholson, they don’t picture him as I depicted.  But, I do.  So, blah.

Check it out.  I’d post it here, but it’s probably more interesting if you read the reaction from some readers at the actual spot at GoComicsCLICK HERE.

Above:  Replace the girls with pen nibs – and it’s a close glimpse of Nate’s studio after a frustrating drawing session.

 

 

2 Responses to “The Comic is Shining!”

  1. Bearman November 1, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    When did you start getting commenters…haha j/k

    Great toon…got it right away.

    • Nate Fakes November 1, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

      Glad it didn’t scare you too bad

Leave a Reply

