Some Animals Are Not Pets

22 Oct

I generally appreciate people for who they are. I mean, everyone is different, everyone has their own agenda and – for the most part – most people have good intentions. However, there are times I wonder what would drive a person to do something. The one thing, that I can not understand what-so-ever for the life of me, is how they let people get away with collecting exotic animals. Is it for attention? Did the pretty red-haired girl not pay enough attention to these people in high school? Why would they collect them? They’re not playing cards.

This post stems from the disaster that happened last Tuesday in Ohio where a collector of exotic animals let them all loose (and shot himself afterwards – but that’s besides the point). The animals ran a muck in the rural area, so deputies were forced to shoot – and kill – 18 Bengal tigers, 17 lions, six black bears, two grizzlies, three mountain lions and a baboon. Six animals were actually captured and taken to the Columbus (Ohio) zoo.

For starters, why are people allowed to have all these animals?

Honestly, most of it is human ignorance to begin with (in my humble opinion). People want these animals for themselves, however, there’s no way these animals were properly cared for or happy. Lions don’t live on farms – they live on African safaris where they can run. Same goes for the other animals (well, all in different places). Why would someone want to lock up these animals for themselves? They’re not kittens or puppies that actually thrive on human connection (most of the time – especially if they want a treat). Buy an exotic goldfish if you HAVE to have something unique.

Second, why aren’t there more laws against this?

No, I’m not a PETA member or anything like that, but I am a strong supporter of animal rights. It’s outrageous to me that this would be allowed. Honestly, it’s the same as owning your own mental asylum. If the people in the asylum escaped, they’re not capable of making rational decisions – just like tigers, lions and bears – so they would roam unbeknownst to them of what harm or danger they could cause.

I don’t know. It just baffles me the human conditions sometimes.

I get sick when I hear of these animal abuse cases (especially here in Florida) that occur. These kind of farms for exotic animals are in the same category as far as I’m concerned. They’re locked up for show. I’ve yet to see an area big enough for most of them (including zoos). I don’t even go to Sea World, because those animals don’t belong in a tank. Really, they act like they’re happy, but I would doubt it. (I’ve met Ric O’Barry – the personal trainer for the old television show Flipper. He mentioned to me and an audience that the dolphin that was in the television show actually killed – drowned – itself right in front of him (read more here). He could tell it was depressed, and desperate to escape. Now, he’s a dolphin activist.)

Above: Flipper was not happy – especially around this freckly kid

If it were me – I’d shut all of these places down instantly. Luckily, there are a lot of states with stricter laws against exotic pet farms. The laws against animal abuse cases are getting stricter, too. I’d suggest treating the people that do these things to animals – well – like they treated the animals. Lock them up for awhile in a small cage (prison or jail is too lenient).

Of course, they shut them down, then where do the animals go? Good question. Maybe, since they’re now used to captivity, a BIG area for them to roam? I don’t have the solution, but I’m sure just taking them back to where they are naturally from (like Africa) wouldn’t work too well. The main thing would be to stop it, so eventually they wouldn’t have to have a situation of placement for them.

So, what are people thinking sometimes keeping exotic pet farms? This, again, baffles me. I don’t know. I can’t understand it, and never will. I can only hope, that maybe from this incident in Ohio, something gets done about it and people just go out and buy a poodle.

Above: Not a good pet

Above: Excellent pet. Loves kids, provides breakfast and nutrients

3 Responses to “Some Animals Are Not Pets”

  1. Nate Fakes October 22, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    Here’s another link: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/10/21/zanesville-ohio-exotic-animals-escape-killed_n_1026064.html?icid=maing-grid7%7Caim%7Cdl1%7Csec1_lnk2%7C106464

    I’m sorry – but this guy was a scumbag. Keeping animals in a cage that they can’t even stand up in? Exactly my point.

  2. bearman October 22, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    People in the mental asylum didn’t escape…the government opened the doors and just let them out and shut down the asylums.

    Not surprising many end up in our jails.

    • Nate Fakes October 22, 2011 at 11:49 am #

      That’s true. Ohio is full of them (my old professor was one of them)

Leave a Reply

