Book?

12 Oct

Okay, something I’ve been working on now and slowly pelting away at has been a book. Not a book full of my cartoons – but a non-fiction book. The topic? Let’s just say it includes a look at cartooning today, the journey to get there and also a mix of illustrations.

I’ve started chapters over the past several years, but haven’t been happy with ANY of them. A lot of the work I started on it, I came across as too Truman Capote-like with my writing – which isn’t me (too much reading the classics, I guess). It wasn’t entertaining, funny or something I would want to read – so I stopped.

Recently, I’ve been thinking about really starting it back up and I think I might have a better direction to take it. I’ve figured out a lot of things I’d want to keep out of it, and also chapters that I now would want to include.

And from this, it’s all about trying to find a publisher, or hop on the self-publishing bandwagon and go that route.

I’m anxious to start working on it more. I wish there was more time in a day, but not much I can do about that. I’d be making excuses for myself if I said, “I don’t have the time.” Nobody has the time.

So, I’ll keep you posted. And trust me – this isn’t going to be a quick overnight ordeal. I’m guessing a few more years and I might have something completed. But, that being said, I am anxious about to start work again on it. I’ve never written a book before, but it’s on my bucket list (I really don’t have a ‘list’ made out, but I do have several buckets).

2 Responses to “Book?”

  1. Bearman October 12, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    If it is a take on comics today and you take 2 years to do it, won’t it already be out of date? haha

Leave a Reply

