Idea Faucet

10 Oct

I know I’ve written about this before, but it’s funny to me how my ideas of creating cartoons happens. It’s not something that can be taught or anything. It literally just…HAPPENS. And when it does, it’s great. When it doesn’t, it’s frustrating. But it’s something that I have to contend with. I’m sure writers and authors (you know – the non-cartoonist profession ones) have this issue as well. It’s unexplainable how ideas can happen. But, I’ve learned a few things that might – just might – help with the creation process (or not).

Number one: Coffee

Above: A cup of coffee (we’re guessing)

Coffee is a miracle beverage for me. I find that it really does open up the senses. Without it, I often feel like I can’t come up with anything. Somehow though, after a few cups, my brain starts to think of things that I wasn’t able to before drinking any. I dunno. How does that happen? Well, it works for me – sometimes. Even with the coffee, I have hours (days) where I have nothing but a blank piece of paper before me with no good idea or concept. However, I’ve also had (with coffee, of course) times where the ideas simply flow from one to the next and I fill up pages upon pages of GOOD material. Thank you, coffee, for that.

Something else about coffee – you can make it work for you! It’s like an intern that you don’t pay to help you out. If you space out your coffee drinking to the times that you need it or plan on working, then it can have a creative effect. But, be warned…If you drink too much of it, it can have the opposite effect, leaving you shaking and in the fetal position in a dark corner (okay, maybe shaky, but I’m not too sure about that whole dark corner stuff).

Number two: Reading

Above: What’s he reading? Probably the print version of this blog.

Der! This is probably and obvious choice, but yes, reading does help open up ones eyes a bit further and can help you discover your own ideas. No, not plagiarism, but simply you unconsciously think of better material the more ideas and reading you get into you noodle. Hopefully after reading a bit, your mind becomes an internal library that you can pull books from when needed and apply them toward whatever it is you’re trying to come up with. I try to read a big mix of everything when I get the chance (which, unfortunately, I haven’t had a lot of time recently). Everything from fiction, non-fiction, Cosmo, newspapers, MAD, comics and everything (well, scratch the Cosmo part). So read. Der!

Number three: Mornings

Above: Definitely not Nate.

This will vary with everyone, but mornings are my prime-time to crank out written ideas. Afternoons – no. Evenings – nope. And anything in between – definitely not.

Number four: Music

Above: A pretty good band. Check them out.

Crank it up! Or maybe just have it up a little. Up to you. I like to listen to things though when I write. I’m not the kind of person who can sit in silence for very long. If there’s nothing playing in the background, I’ll get sleepy. Just because I recommend writing in the morning doesn’t mean I’m a morning person per say. I like to crank up a mix between The Doors, Mozart and almost anything else (except Justin Bieber….NEVER Justin Bieber). I have an interesting array of material that I like.

Ideas are like a mosquito – it’s hard to get rid of them, but when they do come around, you swat at them until they stop sucking you dry. Is that a good analogy? Er, well – no. But, what do you expect? It’s not morning and I can’t think of a good one.

Okay, well – that’s my advice. Chances are it won’t work for you (my advice usually isn’t very helpful), but if anything, it’s stuff to think about that will keep you from thinking of good ideas. See if those ideas HAPPEN for you!

3 Responses to “Idea Faucet”

  1. Bearman October 10, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    Mornings are a great time for ideas from me too. Problem is it is usually 4am

    • Nate Fakes October 11, 2011 at 11:30 am #

      Nothing wrong with that! Get them out of the way early – and you should be hitting that drawing table around 6, then wrap it up by 9. Still have the whole day to nap.

  2. SEO March 11, 2014 at 11:00 pm #

    I love to share knowledge that will I have built up with the season to assist enhance group functionality.

Leave a Reply

