Clipped

6 Oct

Being relatively new to having my comics in the newspaper, I was a little taken back when I actually ran into a fan that has clipped out several comics of mine – on their own (without me handing them the scissors).

My wife and I were out watching the baseball game the other day, and somehow we started to chat it up with a table that was next to us. As we got to talking, it was mentioned that I was a cartoonist. From there, it was questions of what comic I drew. Come to find out, Break of Day was her favorite read! Go figure.

Now, it could’ve been the alcohol talking, but according to her, she has quite a collection going. It was the first time I’ve ever heard of a stranger clipping out my work and hanging it up at the work place. My wife clips them out and puts them in an album, but she doesn’t hang them in any office. They sit on the coffee table here.

And I’ve heard of friends of mine saving a few – but never heard from a complete stranger yet.

So, very cool. It’s nice to hear that some of my material is making its way onto office furniture. I honestly am appreciative of anyone that takes a break out of their day (hey, that kind of sounds like the name of my feature) to read my work. I know online I can read the comments and know that people are checking it out (my material), but in the actual paper, I’m a bit clueless to how many readers enjoy it. I know the circulation and all of that, but some people just pick up the news for the sports – so hard to tell.

As long as Break of Day is not cut out and used for extra toilet paper, I’m pretty content.

4 Responses to “Clipped”

  1. bearman October 6, 2011 at 6:00 am #

    So what did you send her?

    BTW, I need some toilet paper.

    • Nate Fakes October 7, 2011 at 7:26 am #

      Grab a few newspapers and store them on your toilet paper holder

  2. Dennis Fakes October 6, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    WAY TO GO! I am not surprised. What surprises me is that this ‘toon is not national!

    • Nate Fakes October 7, 2011 at 7:28 am #

      I’m working on that!

      Funny how the moment in my life when I actually ‘make it’ – the market stinks and there’s not much I can do about it.

      I think it’s all going to be going through a lot of changes and it will all pan out in the future. Radio was supposed to be dead when MTV came around, movies were supposed to be dead when television arrived – so I think print or online – cartoonist will have a good, solid venue so people like me can earn a decent living. (Hopefully, sooner than later!)

Leave a Reply

