Boy Do I Look Bad

3 Oct

So, this morning, at 8:30 AM – guess where I am?

Not at the coffee shop. Not getting donuts (believe it or not). Nope. I’m at – the liquor store.

Now let me explain myself before you pass judgement on why I’m at a liquor store first thing in the morning. Okay, I have a pretty good reason.

Tonight, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers are playing Monday night football. And even bigger than that – the Tampa Bay Rays are playing Texas in the wildcard (game three, to be exact). Both teams are my favorite – so I’m watching the games.

Not only are these my favorite teams, but they’re both home games. And I happen to live right next to Tropicana Field, where the Rays will be playing. (Honestly, my front yard is The Trop. It’s that close.) Not that that matters too much, but it does add to the excitement.

With all that being said, there is definitely some drinks and some serious sports watching tonight. And honestly, it’s rare, I mean VERY rare that I would drink anything on a Monday night. But hey, sometimes events call for it. And even with the booze, it doesn’t mean I’m going to get drunk. Nothing wrong with just enjoying some cocktails, right?

But, that doesn’t really answer the question. WHY was I at the liquor store so early?

Well, I have a lot to do before five this afternoon, when the Rays play. And there are people coming over. I wanted to get the shopping out of the way – work like crazy – and then thoroughly enjoy myself. (Notice how I’m taking several moments though of slacking off to type this blog.)

No, I’m not an alcoholic, but boy did I look like one this morning.

It’s funny the looks you get from people when you’re lined up with booze right when the sun is starting to come up. I’m surprised nobody handed me a pamphlet for AA support.

I was a little nervous, too. I saw the stares, so I tried to act ‘normal’ so I didn’t come across as a drunk. And by doing that, I’m over-thinking myself, so I DID come across as kind of a nervous drunk! I felt like standing on the counter and announcing to everyone, “Hey, you guys. It’s cool. This isn’t my breakfast. It’s for later. Get it?” Well, but by doing that, I really would’ve looked bad.

Above: What people at the liquor store thought of me

You might be asking yourself also why a liquor store is open at this time in the morning, and wouldn’t everyone in there be on my same page?

Well, it’s technically a carry-out. We always call it the liquor store because – well – that’s mostly what they sell. However, the morning crowd usually consist of coffee drinkers and the construction workers stocking up on Gatorade for the day.

Anyhow, it’s done. My shopping is over. I’m about to hit the drawing table (I’m make that sound as if I’m going to ‘hit’ the gym) and get work done.

The fun is this evening.

Now, hopefully, my reputation isn’t ruined by being at the liquor store at 8:30 AM with handful of booze. I’m guessing it isn’t, unless I show up tomorrow and do the same thing.

3 Responses to “Boy Do I Look Bad”

  1. Bearman October 3, 2011 at 8:05 am #

    Boy if that is the nerves you get buying liquor, I would have hated to be around when you were single and buying condoms

    • Nate Fakes October 3, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

      You should of seen me buying those that early in the morning. Whew!

      • bearman October 6, 2011 at 6:00 am #

        Then it was probably too late..hahah

Leave a Reply

