Creative Process (or whatever you want to call it)

2 Oct

Like almost any other cartoonist out there, I often get asked, “Where do you get your ideas from?”. I get it. It’s a good question. I mean really – where DO I get my ideas from? Well, it’s easy to answer. Three simple words: I don’t know.

I ask myself THE SAME question sometimes. It’s funny to me when I write about things that really I have no working knowledge on or seldom think about on a regular basis – but yet – my noggin scribbles out an idea for a comic. This is why I think everything I do is really just a cesspool of thoughts, ideas and observations that I’ve noticed throughout my whole life through experiences, reading and other activities (I’m sure a handful of ideas I’ve conceived have come from the back of a box of Fruit Loops).

I thought of this when I read today’s comic. (Yes, I read my own comics. In fact, I usually forget what day a certain comic will post. So me, like the reader, really has no idea what comic will be published on certain days.)

It’s about Wild Bill’s younger brother. Well, like any cartoon, I’m not sure how accurate it is. I guarantee if Wild Bill DID have a younger brother, his name wasn’t Gentle (as I appropriately named him in today’s ‘toon). And so even with my historical accuracy off, I still make a comic like this knowing nothing about Wild Bill or his family. Yet, I stick to my rule of thumb – if it makes me laugh, others will laugh – so I did it anyways.

Above: Wild Bill BEFORE getting angry at me because I made fun of his brother

So, my apologies to the Hickok family if I damaged any reputation regarding the accuracy of their family tree. I think I might of just damaged a couple of roots of it, if anything.

Ideas like this though come constantly, hence my ability to create cartoons. Why do I draw things about penguins? NAKED penguins? Farting elephants? Roaches talking about a Broadway show? I don’t know a thing about any of them.

As I over-think things as usual, I then tell myself, “It’s just a comic strip. It doesn’t have to be 100% accurate. It’s just funny drawings and hopefully a funny thing for the reader. Oh, gosh. This comic is a disaster…”

Where do I get my ideas? Once again, I don’t know. But I know that maybe a better question to ask myself is WHY do I get my ideas.

2 Responses to “Creative Process (or whatever you want to call it)”

  1. bearman October 2, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    My opinionated cartoons probably aren’t any more accurate.

    • Nate Fakes October 3, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

      I’m sure they’re more accurate than mine though. At least you do a little research

Leave a Reply

