Cell Phone – Nah

1 Oct

Believe it or not I’ve not been without a cell phone for about a month and a half. And you know what? I don’t miss it.

Call me taking backward progress in technology, but I find myself much happier without the annoying text messages, awkward phone calls at inopportune times and the God-awful beeps and bops that they create.

You see, at my current residence, they offer a free house phone. Yup. It comes with the place. And my wife has a cell phone (which she loves dearly and hold o’ so close to her heart). So, if I ever REALLY needed one, I could have access to it. But, it reminds me of simpler times without one (yea, I sound like an old man right now). Plus, if I really don’t want to talk to someone, I now have the excuse of, “Oh, sorry. I wasn’t home.” With a cell phone, it’s “WHY DIDN’T YOU PICK UP!?!”

Sure, there might be times when I’ll wish I had one. Like when my car is burning on the highway or if I’m stranded in Compton at three in the morning. However, I have knowledge of what I used to do in though situations roughly ten years ago. I’d walk…and walk….and walk more – UNTIL – I find a pay phone. Risking getting mugged or shot. Oh, what an adventure!

I might eventually ‘get hip’ again and get a cell phone, but in the meantime, I’m quite content without one.

Viva la house phone!

2 Responses to “Cell Phone – Nah”

  1. bearmancartoon October 1, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    No wonder you don’t answer your damn cell phone.

    • Nate Fakes October 2, 2011 at 9:10 am #

      That’s exactly why. Plus, with the home phone, there’s really no caller ID, so I seldom pick up if I know you might be calling

Leave a Reply

