Um…..NO

10 Jun

Have you ever worked on something and then figure out that you have no clue why you did it?

I did this the other day with a comic.

I came up with an idea that – at the time – seemed promising and funny.

I drew it.  I colored it.  And then…I LOOKED at it.

What was I thinking?

Here’s the comic:

Here’s why this particular ‘toon doesn’t work:

– For one, I’m referencing a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  That’s why I mention the TOAST.  Get it?  However, if you think about it, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches are typically used with bread – not toast.

– The drawing itself is baffling.  The guy is smiling, but why does the girl have kind of disgruntled look?  I dunno.

– Why would they be in this situation to begin with?

– It’s not clever.  It’s almost like one of those really bad jokes.  In fact, the only thing that WOULD make this comic work, is if it were obvious that the guy was telling a really bad joke.  But even then…

Anyhow, even after all the effort to make this comic, I’m glad I can catch my own flaws and dump it before it makes it to Go-Comics, or (ugh) the paper.

Have you ever done something like this?  Inquiring minds would love to know!

4 Responses to “Um…..NO”

  1. lutheranworship June 10, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    Call me weird, but I like the comic. I have to admit, however, that the first time I saw it, I didn’t get it. But when you sent it this time, I immediately laughed!

  2. Bearman June 10, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    I loved it. It was so goofy that it was funny. It is the kind of thing my wife and I would do. She would hold the jelly and I the peanut butter and I could see me making such a dumbass remark. Thus the bewildered look on her face until she got what I was talking about.

  3. Nate Fakes June 11, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    Geesh, maybe I’m wrong on this one….

    I actually just finished coloring it yesterday, and looking at it, I meant all the comments that I had to say about the comic. However, if from your perspective it’s so goofy it’s funny, well, maybe I should try it out.

    I’ve been wrong before. I’ve hated some of the past material that I’ve done that turns into a hit, unbeknownst to me!

Leave a Reply

