I’m Still A Frustrated Cartoonist

24 Feb

Once again, sorry I’ve been away from here for so long (or, maybe that’s a good thing).

I don’t know what it is. For some reason, I feel like if I vent on here or speak what’s on my mind, I’ll end up pissing off some editor or something. Or, possibly blowing my chances with a potential client. Not too sure why that is? I guess I’ve been hiding in my cave for a while and just lying low so I don’t say anything or post something that I think might “damage” my career. You know, like just shutting up so I don’t say the wrong thing. It usually worked for me a lot of times when I used to go out on dates, you know.

BUT…

I’ve also learned that the more open and honest I am about who I am as a person, cartoonist and potential rapper (sorry, inside joke), it usually helps me out in the long run. I’m always brutally honest, so maybe that’s a good thing?  For post?  Er….maybe?

I had – for the longest time – my ‘Frustrated Cartoonist Blog’ which did pretty good back in the day in terms of explaining what’s happening. I would typically rant and rave about my journey into cartooning, and my attempts at syndication, or publications in general. I enjoyed doing, so I’m going to try to get back with it and just post more efficient things on here (along with the usual nonsense) that scope out that range of topics – which is LONG.

Because, deep down (and deep up), I’m still a frustrated cartoonist.

My wife informed me that I tend to “butter things up” on here sometimes, and leave out a lot of the BAD things going on with my cartooning endeavors, and that people might get the misconception that all is lotti-da with my work when really there’s a lot of things NOT going so hot. That got me thinking (believe it or not) that I probably should include EVERYTHING instead of just mentioning stuff that sounds good. I always want to be as open and honest as possible, and don’t want the general public getting the wrong idea of where I’m at or what I’m eating for dinner.

I DO have a lot of great things going on, and I’m excited about the direction I’m headed with my work, but still, I’m not exactly cruising on the high-road of cartooning – yet.

So, I know I’ve said it before, but I’m REALLY going to try to post more on here. Yes, a lot of the reason for lack of post has been – pure and simple – time. But, also a lot of it has been because I really haven’t had much to say, and – like I mentioned – have kind of been hiding in the shadows in fear of someone reading these that might get….I don’t know….offended?

And when I don’t have a lot to say, I don’t want to bore you. In fact, if I had any sense of common courtesy, instead of a blog post, I should have at least posted links on here to interesting blogs, right? My bad.

Anyway, back to what I was getting at.

In reality, most editors or potential clients are good people, and wouldn’t take anything I post on here as a reason to stomp out any work for them that I might be able to do. (As far as I know. I could be totally wrong and they might read Nate Ramblings and then totally pitch my submissions in the nearest garbage can.) My character – cartoon or not – reflects a lot, and I never tend to go much overboard with anything on here. Yes, I can rant and rave, but I bite my tongue with cursing, don’t “name names” or TYPE EVERYTHING IN CAPS LIKE A SCREAMING MORON.

I think it’s good for people to know me as – well – me. That’s why I’m trying to post more videos as well. As bad as they are, at least I can feel like I get to know you, fellow readers, at least a little bit more (in case we never meet in person).

So, for now, here’s to being a frustrated cartoonist! I’m sure I will be for a while, so keep checking in! (Or, go to the Un-Frustrated Cartoonist blog – wherever that is, and if there is such a thing.)

2 Responses to “I’m Still A Frustrated Cartoonist”

  1. Bearman February 25, 2011 at 5:57 am #

    so your next video is going to be a rap one right???

  2. Nate Fakes February 25, 2011 at 7:18 am #

    I was thinking about that, it’s just I still need some strippers to dance on my car, a wad of cash to put in my mouth and some gold teeth. Then (once I join a gang) I’ll be ready

Leave a Reply

