Again, We Don’t Have It Easy

19 Jan

You know, I used to compare being a cartoonist to being a comedian on paper.  It just seemed logical.  I mean, cartoonist tell jokes as do comedians.  But then I thought about it, and I think maybe, just maybe, comedians have it much easier.  The two are not the same.  Not even close.  What was I thinking?

I don’t know why it took me so long to think about it, but I realized, a comedian can tell the SAME joke numerous times throughout his/her career.  In fact, a good enough joke can be told for DECADES.  However, if you’re a daily cartoonist, you CAN’T repeat the same joke – not even once!  (Well, you can, but your cartooning career probably wouldn’t last too long.)

If you compare the workload, cartoonist have more than twice the amount of work to do.  Don’t we?  Just maybe?

And with comedians, it’s all about the delivery – not even the joke per-say.  Cartoonist have the same task with the delivery, but here again, we have to come up with a new way of delivering material on a regular basis.

So, why not make life easy and become a comedian?

Okay, for one, I couldn’t be one (I’m pretty sure).  And okay, I’m sure comedians have it just as hard as a cartoonist.  I’ll admit it.  It takes a lot to get up on stage and make people laugh (I’m pretty sure, since I can’t do it).  As a cartoonist, I have the choice of sitting backstage, behind the curtain and shoving my material out there to either be laughed at or criticized.  Plus, if you throw tomatoes at my comedy, chances are you would have a messed up computer screen or printed media that’s a little hard to read.  So maybe this makes cartooning easier?  Well, nah…I won’t go THAT far.

Plus, the audience that a cartoonist has compared to a comedian.  People that like a comedian certainly can choose which comedy show to attend.  However, when trying to pursue syndicated cartooning, you get the eerie feeling that you pretty much have to amuse the masses of every age, gender, race, etc. without compromise.  You can’t be a Chris Rock on the comics page and get away with it.

Anyhow, I no longer compare being a comedian to a cartoonist.  There are major differences, that I guess really aren’t even close in comparison.  This was just a little tour de force “Rambling” that crosses my mind and I like to clear up on here  just for my own discretion.

Now, if I can only nail the comedy part with these post, I might be able to compare myself with both!

7 Responses to “Again, We Don’t Have It Easy”

  1. Bearman January 20, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    When you gonna post my comment…geez

  2. Bearman January 20, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    I think my comment got lost to the world.

    You perfectly described the difference between the guy who goes out to bars to meet women (comedian) and the one who does online dating (cartoonist) haha

    • Nate Fakes January 21, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

      Your comments aren’t posting? Hmm…I guess we have some heavy security

      • Bearman January 21, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

        What and no comment on my in depth analysis of your writing?

      • Nate Fakes January 21, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

        OH YEA! Sorry. I was too busy looking at the security cameras checking out possible comments entering in here.

        I met my wife at a bar….so, I guess I don’t qualify for the cartoonist. But, I wouldn’t put it past me to be that guy if I was looking for a new microwave online

  3. George January 26, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    I once made the same comparison, Nate. You brought up some good points too. Maybe I’ll look at my comic as being like a sit-com instead. Only, instead of thirty minutes, I get three or four panels to win the audience over. 🙂

    • Nate Fakes January 27, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      Yeah, it gets weird when you think about comedy. Cartooning is way more different than live the more I thought about it. I think you have a pretty good sitcom going already – with plenty of comedy!

Leave a Reply

