Back From the Holidays

30 Dec

Okay, so I’m a little behind…on everything.  But, the holiday’s are coming to a close, and maybe – JUST MAYBE – I can start to get back on track again.  And that’s a huge maybe, but track repair has begun.

December was – well – a snowball of events (we don’t get much snow in Florida, but “snowball” sounds festive).  Good stuff, bad stuff and everything inbetween.  I always toy with myself on what kind of post to leave on here (detailed, funny, amusing, blah), but I’ll spare you too many details.  Let’s just say that everything DID turn out good, however, one major event in the Fakes’ life this past month was nationally televised – and not in a good way.  I swear I’ll crank out a book someday.  I think I have enough material to surpass those lengthy Lord of the Rings series.

I will however give you a few cartooning updates!

Really, some pretty good things have been happening.  Am I syndicated?  No.  Am I rich?  Not even close.  Did I eat a lot of chocolate throughout the season?  Yes.  But, like I mentioned, some good things have been happening regardless.

Break of Day has finally been “officially” reviewed.  The final verdict is – it’s still needs developed.  BUT, the development of it will be modified a bit.  I’ve been offered help with it with a syndicate (and editor) and hopefully it can be syndicated someday soon.  No, there’s no promises of grandeur, syndication or anything with it.  But, we’ll see where it goes. I’m just happy they’ve taken notice of it and see the possible potential.  In this industry, there’s no guarantees on anything though, so it’s all a matter of just improving it, working hard and the final result will come around someday.

While all of this is taking place, they’ll continue to be posted on GoComics – my ultimate test market arena.

I’m also developing a new strip.  No details on this yet, but I’ll keep you well informed here at Ramblings.

It’s too bad that “edgy” material such as my Toaster strips cannot be syndicated.  I would love to crank material like that out on a regular basis.  But as of now, there’s no market for them, except in MAD.  And MAD is bi-monthly, so there’s only so much material that I can put in there, you know.

So for a regular gig, I’m working toward syndicating Break of Day and I want a strip as well.  But, first things first, and with interest with Break of Day, that’s my main focus.

I’m working on new concepts for MAD as well.

And this upcoming month, there should be word about a job as a staff cartoonist for a major newspaper.  They’re interested in me (have been since July), but the decision comes from MANY people – not just one.  So, I am waiting for it to go through all the loopholes until I will find out about this.  It’s been another work-in-progress since this summer.  I hear that after the New Year, I might know more.

Well, that’s about all, folks!  I’ll continue to post when possible, and I’ll try to layoff those Christmas cookies and chocolate for awhile, so I can avoid those pesky sugar rushes that delay my postings on here.

 

4 Responses to “Back From the Holidays”

  1. Bo Lumpkin January 3, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Things look promising for you. I am an optomist anyway so I pretty much figure that you’ll be going places before you know it.

  2. Nate Fakes January 3, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    Thanks, Bo. Cheers to 2011!

  3. George January 5, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    I’ve been loving your stuff on Break of Day. I marvel at a man who can create an ongoing single panel comic. he reason I do so many super-sized strips is due to my inefficiency to be funny in one instant. I’m proud of ya, Nate, and you’re definitely on the right track if the syndicates even know your name. 🙂

  4. Nate Fakes January 5, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    Thanks, George! Glad you’re enjoy BOD (boy, that sounds weird!). I enjoy doing it. I do miss the strip though, so I’m anxious to start one up again. And you’re totally nailing your strips on a consistent basis! They’re always funny, so you’ve got that covered. Likewise, I don’t know how the hell you can crank those super-sized ones out so often! Cheers to 2011!

Leave a Reply

