Cartooning Updates!

5 Nov

Hi-ho, Kermit thee frog here – oh, wait – wrong script.  Actually, it’s Nate.  Just updating Nate’s Ramblings in fear of losing any consistent readers that I might have (and for fun, of course).  As I’ve mentioned in previous post, I’m notorious for being late with new material for my post, so I try to make up for it with lousy updates.  Well, here’s the newest!

I’ve been cranking out material for my comic Break of Day on a regular basis.  This results in a compilation of over a hundred comics – and about another hundred that I end up scrapping because I don’t like.  My efforts are still geared toward syndication and magazine spots with the series.  Is it going well?  Actually, I must say it’s advancing.  It’s still rather new (well, I actually started the comic back in 2003 for my college paper, but just got back into this particular premise of the gag-style strip recently back in June) so I haven’t expected too much to happen as of yet.  BUT – I’m really pushing for it here these next several months and I’ve heard back from several potential arenas for the comics to appear.  While all this is in process, I’m continuing to work on many more ideas for it and keeping up pace so I don’t lag from the comic.  Writing is the biggie with this, and that’s where most of my efforts have been concentrated.

I also wrapped up a very small – but funny – article for MAD that will be in issue 507, along with three new comics of mine that will also be appearing in the same issue.  It’ll be the year end “MAD’s 20 Dumbest People, Places and Things of 2010”.  I’ll let you all know when it’s out.

Now that elections are over, another strong focus is for local publications.  I have one going (that I’ve been doing since last February) for I Love the Burg.  However, I’ve got a few contacts and “works in progress” with some new endeavors on really expanding out in the Tampa Bay for some strong, locally published comics.  It’s always fun to create something around here and with all of Florida’s oddities, running out of material is never a problem.

I’ve still got my part time job at the paper doing customer service work.  I mentioned all of this in a previous post.  It’s mostly for extra income and for getting out and learning the newspaper and local things – all that helps with my other work.  So, though it’s not for cartooning, it’s a good experience that I’m enjoying for awhile.  Plus, one of the benefits of the job is a free paper, so I’m saving gobs off of getting an actual subscription!

So, that’s about all the Cartooning Updates that I can muster up for now!  Hope this will bring you back for more as my quest for more consistent updates continues.

OH – I was going to also update about something else.  Many of you have been asking me about Reader’s Digest and when those comics are coming out.  Well, since August, I’ve got about ten or so of them in their “holding pen” for consideration.  A few that were held got the ax, so some I know are not appearing.  However, there are still quite a few (six or seven right now…I think) that are still being considered.  I’m still learning the ropes with how they go about publishing the cartoons, so I’m not sure if some of the ones that got the ax several months ago will still be considered for the future.  However, there are quite a few that still might be appearing soon.  So, though nothing is out yet, it’s going well as their interest with them continues to gain and they keep holding more comics.  As with everything else, I’ll keep you updated!

3 Responses to “Cartooning Updates!”

  1. Bearman November 5, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    Next time the editor comes by, try tripping him and putting my URL in front of him..haha

  2. DadaHyena November 10, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    Same here!

    YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY! (waving my arms a la Kermit)

Leave a Reply

