Curiosity Killed the Cast

21 Oct

I have a fascination of often times figuring out what happened to television and movie stars that were on shows or movies that I enjoyed – and then you don’t hear of them.  Where did they go?  What happened to their careers?  Did they quit acting or what?  And I always wonder about the not-so-popular ones.  I guess they call them “D list” actors or something.  Anyway, the ones that are memorable, but not that important.

Well, after numerous times doing this – I’ve figured it out where they are the majority of times.

THEY’RE DEAD

Just today I was watching an old episode of Roseanne.  I used to love watching the show back in the 90’s when it was aired.  Anyhow, it was on reruns today while I was on lunch, so I decided just to watch it (especially since nothing else was on since we snipped the cable).  I thought to myself, “Whatever happened to Mark?”  If you remember the show, “Mark” was Becky’s boyfriend and a regular on the show.  His real name was Glenn Quinn.  He also played opposite Johnny Galecki (Big Bang Theory) as his brother on the show.

Anyhow, he’s dead.  Died at 32.  He’s been dead since 2002 of an apparent heroin overdose (shocker from a Hollywood actor – I know.)

About a month ago, I was watching the movie Meet the Parents and wondered, “Hmm.  I wondered what happened to the blond girl who was getting married and was the sister of Ben Stiller’s fiance in the movie?  The one that got hit in the nose with the volley ball in the pool.”  Well, her name in the movie was Debbie, and her real name is Nicole DeHuff.  And you guessed it – she’s dead.  She died in 2005 at the age of 30 of pneumonia.

I don’t know where I was either when I heard recently that the guy that played Bill in Quentin Tarantino’s Kill Bill movies, David Carradine, was dead as well.  Apparently of self-strangulation while masturbating in 2009!  (I guess everyone knew of this news except me.)

At any rate, I guess I need to start assuming where actors go when I don’t see them for a while.  They go six feet under (or possibly cremation).

I have found (which is very weird) that a lot of actors from very OLD shows that I enjoy are still alive.

For example, I’ve been watching a lot of old Alfred Hitchcock Presents shows from the 50’s recently on Netflix.  When I Google a majority of the names of the actors, they’re up there in age – but still alive.

In most of these cases though, it seems as if my curiosity killed the cast.

4 Responses to “Curiosity Killed the Cast”

  1. Pat (Yeti) October 21, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    Glenn Quinn also had a decent role on the series Angel (Buffy The Vampire Slayer spin off) I cant remember if he was still on the show when it happened or if his character died off then he ODed. But it was sad. Did you know he was Irish? He did a good job hiding it on Roseanne, but not on Angel.

    • Nate Fakes October 22, 2010 at 8:54 am #

      Yeah, I noticed on Wikepedia that he was an Irish actor that spoke generally with an accent. I was surprised to hear he was dead.

  2. Bearman October 22, 2010 at 6:17 am #

    OK…you are really out of the loop. I didn’t know about the first two but Caradine’s story was all over the news. haha

    • Nate Fakes October 22, 2010 at 8:54 am #

      I don’t know where I was when that happened with Caradine? Must have turned off the news that week…

Leave a Reply

