Avoid the Dreaded Pun

8 Sep

I use them.  Yeah, I’ll admit it.  BUT – I’m slowly picking them off and finding myself “catching” myself using them, therefore I try to do away with them.

You know what I’m talking about.

Pun cartoons.

I really hate them.

Yes, they all have their moment in the limelight – and they DO sell a lot of times (just read Reader’s Digest).  That’s why I continue to do them.

However, I really am sick of them.  And I’m talking about a lot of my own material.

With Break Of Day, I avoid them (well, try to avoid them) like the plague, but I’ll toss one here-and-there as a “safety net” since I want to be syndicated.  I noticed every syndicated cartoon has them, so I’ll put a whopper in there occasionally.  (So, if I did a comic about the last paragraph, I’d probably draw a Whopper getting thrown from Burger King and have the caption be “I just wanted to throw a WHOPPER out there!”  Get it?  Get it?)

The reason I don’t like them so much, is – if you think about it – you could make a pun cartoon out of almost ANYTHING.

Here’s an example of one that I did awhile back that I soon scrapped:

Meh.  It’s so obvious that I don’t even find this one even clever.

So, I try to really avoid the puns.  Yes, like I mentioned, I will “toss one out there” on occasion, but if I do, I try to really make it unique (like I’m sure any cartoonist does).

Other comics I try to avoid creating are:

– ANY Gary Larson material (things with cows, chickens, desert islands, bugs, etc.)

– Counselling Cartoons (EVERY where you look, there some therapist setting in a single-panel format…think The NewYorker)

– Doctor Visit Cartoons (This CAN be done – in fact I have one coming out soon – but I really try to avoid them unless I take them way out into left field, which I do.)  These are everywhere, too.  We don’t need more of these like we don’t need more Lady Gaga’s.

But mostly – PUN CARTOONS

Not that I don’t respect them (again, Farside by Gary Larson had a TON of them that I really enjoyed…but the comic world doesn’t need another Farside).  Hell, I do them.  I’ve seen good ones and I’m not cutting down anyone that does a lot of them.  Just in my personal cartooning endeavors, I’m sick of them.

I probably don’t like them much right now because I’m guilty of creating some of the worst ones out there in the past. Please…never look at older material of mine.

But – it’s good to be aware of things I want to avoid.

And the dreaded pun cartoon is one of them.  (So if I was doing a cartoon about this blog, I’d probably draw a big cloud that said “PUN” on it, and a drawing of me running away trying to avoid it.)

5 Responses to “Avoid the Dreaded Pun”

  1. DadaHyena September 8, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    I say if you’re going to do puns they need to be truly TERRIBLE laugh-out loud puns.

    Weak puns just make you want to hunt down the person who wrote them and punch them out. The main perpetrators of weak puns these days are the guys who put the taglines on advertisements for any and every CGI animated movie that comes out (look at any Shrek poster).

    • Nate Fakes September 9, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

      I agree. Unfortunately though, there seems to be more truly TERRIBLE non-laugh-out-loud ones out there.

  2. bearman September 8, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    That’s why I do my failed RD cartoons. Sometimes I have to let out such a bad cartoon it hurts.

    • Nate Fakes September 9, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

      It’s like cursing at the top of your lungs on top of a mountain, huh?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Isn’t it pun-ny | Nate's Ramblings - April 18, 2013

    […] ran across THIS ONE from August, 2010. It’s called ‘Avoid the Dreaded […]

Leave a Reply

