Making Of

27 Aug

I don’t know what it is about seeing a comic being made that is so appealing to me.  It probably stems from looking at books of original art by Charles Schulz or from walking down my neighborhood streets as a child and seeing all the chalk outlines up close and personal (okay, not really).  There’s just something “crisp” and nice about it.  I enjoy looking at original art – even in a photo – more than the finished product when it comes to comics.  I don’t like all the copyright signs, web addresses or anything else added.  (In fact, if you notice my work, I tend to NOT include as much of that as possible.)  Just plain ‘ol art.  That’s it.  The freshest form.

I enjoy it even more when I can see some of the process behind it.  Like all the pencil marks, rulers and what kind of pen is used.

Nothing against people that create their work on the web, but by doing that, there’s no element of “creation” as much as on paper.  The process can be viewed digitally, but I find it hard to dive into the cartoonists’ mind on computers.  When I can see those pencil marks, the quality of the lines and the mistakes fixed by erasing or White-Out, it becomes more alive.  I can sort of see what the cartoonist was thinking or doing when making the comic.

I’m to blame as well for I do all my coloring digitally.  Therefore, you can’t see my process behind that as easily as you could with watercolors or wash.

But, the times are a changing.

Since I’m still kind of “old school” in my process, I can still document creating drawings on paper and ink.  I can also amass a huge collection of originals, that tends to make great scrap paper at any given moment.

So, since I enjoy it so much, I thought it would be neat to share some photos of a couple of Break Of Day comics being created.

I’ve done this before with other work, but as new ideas take shape, I try to stick to what’s current.

Here are a few upcoming new comics that I recently inked out and drew. Hope you enjoy!

9 Responses to “Making Of”

  1. Bearman August 27, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    The one thing I have trouble replicating via web is stroke line pressure so I have stuck with one.

    • Nate Fakes August 27, 2010 at 10:44 am #

      Yeah, that’s something I can only do with a dip pen, so that’s why I stick with that. I like different sizes of line throughout any given piece.

      • Bearman August 31, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

        Maybe if I downloaded the wacom software onto this computer, I could actually use the pen pressure aspect of it..haha

  2. Bo Lumpkin September 1, 2010 at 6:10 am #

    I have been doing almost all of my stuff on computer. As soon as I finish remodeling the old mobile home I have for a studio I really want to try and learn how to draw for real. I am looking forward to that. I love my wacom pen though.

  3. Nate Fakes September 1, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    I’ve never used a Wacom pen or drew on computers. I might enjoy it if I tried, but I like to stick with what works for me. I HAVE however drawn with crayons and glue before.

    • Bo Lumpkin September 2, 2010 at 5:34 am #

      But you have to understand Nate, you are a real artist with talent and everything. I am an old man who wishes he could draw who is not willing to concede the fact that he is too old to learn anything new.

      • Nate Fakes September 2, 2010 at 9:15 am #

        Thank you for the complement, but I think you could draw just fine if you can on the Wacom. Although, I don’t know the difference. I know it all takes practice. It took me forever to get the hang of a dip pen (and I still muck it up many times). You’re talented, Bo. Keep up the good work and you might surprise yourself!

  4. DadaHyena September 4, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

    Very nice to see your process. I use a Wacom tablet to draw out client work; SCAPULA comics, however, are always done with pen and paper first, then scanned and Photoshopped for colors.

    I have to admit I use much lower-quality tools for inking (actually just rolling ball pens and Sharpies), so I may have to invest in something nicer to get your quality of linework…and then who’ll be laughing?! Nya ha ha ha!

    • Nate Fakes September 8, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

      Go for it, sir!

      I’ve seen some great inking with Sharpies and regular pens. I just don’t think it works well for my material. However, there are a lot of pro’s out there that get along just fine with them and have awesome lines as well. Whatever your cup of tea is (or cup of Pepsi or some other drink).

Leave a Reply

