Meet ‘Break Of Day’

12 Aug

After consider launching on Sherpa, I took the plunge last night and decided to go ahead and do it.  Come say “hello” to my new series Break Of Day.

I’m very proud of this work, and it seems to be going over well with a lot of editors and people in the business as well.  I say that because of the positive feedback I’ve received from around the block.

I describe the comic as this:  Break Of Day is a daily, single-panel comic about everything and anything that seems to be funny. You’ll see talking animals, takes on religion, kids, relationship issues and scads more. It is the one comic that WILL give you a nice little break to your day when you read.”

I’m still figuring out how to completely generate all the perks of being on Sherpa (for instance, as of this moment in time, it’s not on the gocomics.com page, but just Sherpa site, and I’m not too sure why).  However, at this moment, you can subscribe to the comic via your email.  It’s daily, so you’ll get it everyday.  Also, I have a Facebook page up, which I’ll post news, new comics and developments with the strip as they come along.

I really have a passion for this one (Break Of Day).  Unlike some of my other material that I’ve attempted doing online, these comics really are fun for me to create, and I am really pulling hard for it (not saying I didn’t have a passion before with my other work or wasn’t pulling for past material, but a lot of the old comics I did do seemed more like work than fun).   Reader’s Digest comics have come from these, and other magazines are (once again, at this moment) very much considering using them in there publications.  However, I don’t want to jinx myself, so that’s all I’ll say.

It’s all very old and new to me.

Break Of Day is actually the original title and single-panel comic from my college days in Dayton.  It appeared in the college paper from 2003-2004.  Back then, it was done with markers and horrible drawings and awful jokes.  Hopefully, I’ve brushed up on that a little bit.  But still, I guess that means it’s already seven years old.  I suppose that’s a good thing, right?

The new part of the comic is I just really started to dive back into creating these back in May of this year.  But, when I say dive, I mean DIVE.  I have worked overtime each day on the writing, drawing, coloring, etc. for these.  I could easily say that in the past three months I’ve probably spent about six months worth of time in development for them.

I’m really pushing for syndication with this.  I have just submitted them out for consideration for syndication less than a month ago, so it’s too early for any word yet.  But, I figured that having them at least out there on Sherpa is a good chance for editors to see more comics that maybe weren’t in the original submission and a chance to get people reading it right off the bat.

Anyway, you get the idea!

Subscribe to the comic HERE!

Become a fan on Facebook HERE!

And please, subscribe to it.  It’s free.  Just takes a second to sign up.  They don’t send you spam or anything, so no worries.

Hope you enjoy!

7 Responses to “Meet ‘Break Of Day’”

  1. Bearman August 12, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

    Well you’ll have to send me a banner ad to add to the list.

  2. Bo Lumpkin August 13, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    Tried to view on my phone but it wouldn’t let me. I am going to try from the library and see if I can get it sent to my email.

    • Nate Fakes August 13, 2010 at 7:36 am #

      Right now, they look fuzzy. I am waiting on tech support because there’s a sizing issue. UGH! My first week of a launch never goes smooth (sigh)

  3. Bo August 16, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    I got logged on and I think I got signed in for the email delivery. Good stuff Nate.

    • Nate Fakes August 16, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

      Glad you got signed up okay and thank you! I’m really enjoying creating Break Of Day as well.

  4. Bo Lumpkin August 24, 2010 at 7:40 am #

    I never did get them sent to my phone but I have been able to check them out every day and they are great. Good job.

Leave a Reply

