Sherpa – Maybe!

8 Aug

After consulting with a few professional cartoonist, I’ve been really thinking about launching a new series of mine on Sherpa at Go Comics.

For those of you who have no clue what I’m talking about (which is pretty common), Sherpa is at gocomics.com and is owned by Universal Press Syndicate.  For a small fee, you can post a comic up on a regular basis.  It allows readers to become a fan of the work, and people can have it delivered directly to their email if they would like.

Quite a few professionals got there start there.  I’ve been asking, “What exactly did it do for you?”  Well, for people like Scott Hilburn (The Argyle Sweater), Brian Anderson (Dog Eat Doug), Alex Hallat and Dan Thompson, it led to syndication.

Sherpa alone won’t do it though.

From what I’ve learned, it’s a great tool and if a syndicate IS interested in a comic, but is on the fence about picking it up, it can be a deciding factor.

I did another submission of my work to syndicates a few week’s ago.  It’s a collection of single-panel comics that all the editors seem to enjoy (I’ve submitted many of them to magazines, and I’ve gotten nothing but positive feedback and hopefully an ongoing relationship with Reader’s Digest).  Anyhow, I was thinking about waiting until I heard back from them before launching the comics on Sherpa, but I’ve also thought that it wouldn’t hurt anything (except my wallet) to just go ahead and do it.

It’s a great place for feedback as well.  The general public can leave comments (just like any other web comic site).

Anyhow…

I’ve found a fun fondness doing these single-panel comics.  I’ve developed them so they’re not too “FarSidey” and I try to avoid using puns (I have a few of them, but I try to spruce them up a bit so their not obvious puns that we all see so often in the comic pages).  Anyhow, I enjoy the variety in them – without repeating characters, settings, etc. – and I can be a little bit more free and edgy with them.  Just my cup of tea.

I’ll announce any launch date or anything if I do go to Sherpa.  I’m guessing it will be a month or so away if I do it, but we’ll see.

4 Responses to “Sherpa – Maybe!”

  1. bearman August 8, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

    Good thing you explained that. I thought Sherpa was a dog.

    • Nate Fakes August 9, 2010 at 4:01 am #

      Beyond its obvious function, I have no clue what a Sherpa is or how they came up with that name. I thought it was a cat at first.

  2. Bo Lumpkin August 9, 2010 at 6:29 am #

    It is amazing what I learn from reading blogs by people who know what they are doing. I am thinking seriously about submitting some of my Creatures of Habit comics to some publishers. Like you, I love doing the one panel gags.

    • Nate Fakes August 9, 2010 at 8:06 am #

      Learn? From Ramblings? Meee? Just kidding…trust me, I get my information from other blogs as well. And the cycle continues.

      Good luck with submissions. You never know until you toss your work out there.

Leave a Reply

