The Storms Of St Petersburg

25 Jul

Call me the weather man if you’d like, because I love shooting storms.  I mean, not “shooting”, like gang related, but shooting with my camera.

I have a great vantage point from my balcony here at my studio downtown.  I love watching these monstrous beast roll in off the bay and then crash down on where I’m standing.  Before the action hits me, I get a few gleaming moments to capture what is about to come.

Beyond storms, there’s some surprising sunrises as well – and after the storm pictures.

Call me a moron because I stay outside until the last second.  You’ll notice how close I get from being blasted by lightning, but hey – that’s the fun part of it all, right?

Here are a handful of pictures from this past summer and last year.

Let me know what you think!

Click On Images To Enlarge

9 Responses to “The Storms Of St Petersburg”

  1. Bo Lumpkin July 26, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    I have had trouble getting to your KOHD comic lately. I keep getting an error message. BTW great pictures.

    • Nate Fakes July 26, 2010 at 7:08 am #

      Thank you, sir!

      Yeah, we’ve been having a lot of issues with our server. We’re trying to get it fixed. It’s frustrating because it’s been off and on for about four days now. Sorry about the problem, but it’s getting attended to.

      • Bo Lumpkin July 27, 2010 at 7:23 am #

        I wasn’t complainin’. I just wanted you to know that I was missin’ your great comic.

  2. George July 26, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    Those are some awesome pictures, Nate! What kind of camera do you use?

    • Nate Fakes July 26, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

      Thanks, George! I use just a cheap Kodak digital camera.

  3. DadaHyena July 28, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    Beautiful photography, Nate! Ever thought of photo-collaging these into your comics?

    Fumetti is loads of fun!

    • Nate Fakes July 28, 2010 at 11:08 am #

      Hmm…never thought of doing that. I don’t know how well it would work. I’d probably mess it up somehow.

      Glad you enjoyed!

  4. Ron-Yves Strouteau July 31, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    That 4th picture down is a good one—kinda creepy looking…

    Also, nice rainbow…I just added Lucky Charms to the grocery list…

    • Nate Fakes August 1, 2010 at 9:23 am #

      Thanks. That picture always reminds me of the Ghostbusters movie for some reason

Leave a Reply

