Busy, Busy, Busy

25 Jun

Sorry that I keep my blog updated about as much as a new millennium party, but it’s been busy (as the title of this blog well states).  But, eh – screw it.  Who actually reads this thing on a regular basis during the summer anyhow?  Okay, there’s a few of you.  I’m sorry…

I’ve been drawing my hands-off recently.  I’m trying to break-in on some new projects that are rather exciting.  There’s some positive vibes with several things in the works.  I”ll fill you in when they’re working.

On top of that, I have my regular schedule of work (boy, I’ve mentioned “work” a lot, huh?)  that’s going well.

I didn’t make the recent MAD – but that doesn’t mean I’m not still selling work (there’s that word “work” again!).  My work (and again…) isn’t timely, so a lot of times it will appear in any given issue and not on schedule.  I get paid regardless if it’s in an issue a decade from now.  However, issue 504 (on stands now) is very funny – probably because I’M NOT in it, so I’d advise getting it.  They have several comics that they already have bought and ready for print anytime, so be on the lookout.  I’m hoping maybe the next issue.  Meanwhile, I’m still pitching plenty of stupid material their way, so I’m hoping to keep my consistency up.  My goal would be to become like a Sergio or Jaffee – be in EVERY issue – but I realize I’ve got ways to go until that happens.  Sorry, MAD subscribers, but I’m going for this, so you’re stuck with me (even if it’s 80 years from now).

I’ll try to write on here more often.  Contrary to popular belief, I do enjoy doing post on a regular basis.  Keep the effort alive by adding as many comments as possible.  At least that would keep the reading material on here slightly interesting!

4 Responses to “Busy, Busy, Busy”

  1. Bearman June 25, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    I have a whole stack of things to send to Mad for submission but I decided I didn’t want to try and compete with you..haha

    • Nate Fakes June 25, 2010 at 8:05 am #

      Shoot em’ to MAD. Why not? If they’re better than my stuff, I’ll just break into the office and tear them up before they get a chance to look at them 🙂

  2. Bo Lumpkin June 28, 2010 at 6:24 am #

    My My, aren’t we competitive these days. I am one of the regular readers of your blog but if you are going to keep using that horrible 4 letter word (work) I might have to reconsider. I find it really offensive. 🙂

    • Nate Fakes June 28, 2010 at 9:26 am #

      Sorry, Bo. My censor is on summer vacation. I hired an intern (non-paying internship, of course), and along with screwing up my coffee orders, he’s failing at weeding out those four letter words – miserably!

Leave a Reply

