Good Ideas – No Venue

8 Jun

Ever come up with a funny concept, yet there was no way of executing it into anything funny – like a comic?

This happens to me a lot.  I’ll think of a nice “set-up”, and bash my brain from right to left trying to think of a way to use it.  You know, like for a MAD article, comic or anything.  Yet, to no avail, nothing will surface.  Nowhere for the “set-up” to go.

For example, recently I thought of something funny:  Fireworks with braille on them

I thought this was a really funny idea (for some sick reason).  There has to be SOMETHING here.

Something?  Anything?

I thought, and thought, and thought some more – but nothing.

I couldn’t think of a follow-through.  There’s NOTHING that I could think of that could convey this idea into words or pictures.  Nothing at all!

I tried many angles, like drawing a guy about to light off fireworks that was obviously blind, but it wasn’t funny.  Nothing I sketched came across clear enough for braille and fireworks.  You ever try drawing braille?  Not easy, or easy to interpret from the audience.

So, these ideas I eventually just scrap (or put into a lame blog).

If you have any ideas for this, please use it.  I’d love to see SOMEONE come up with something for the idea.  Or, maybe it’s one of those premises that’s only funny – just to me.  Either way, I have a feeling there won’t be any “Braille and fireworks” comics coming out anytime soon on this end.

If I do come up with anything, I’ll be sure to have a follow-up for this post.  Or I’ll have a follow-up in several years saying that I never came up with anything for it.  Whatever comes first.

Any ideas?

4 Responses to “Good Ideas – No Venue”

  1. Bearman June 8, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    Blind guy Is lighting a firecracker with the braile words “this end up” however the arrow is not in braille so he lights the wrong end (no fuse). Ok you are right…it is hard.

  2. Nate Fakes June 9, 2010 at 7:53 am #

    Tough, huh?

  3. Bo Lumpkin June 9, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    You would have to make it a multiple panel comic. One having some dude talking about the braile on the fireworks. They store them in a cigar box (also with braile). Okay.. It was too long and complicted but I did give it a shot.

    • Nate Fakes June 14, 2010 at 6:22 am #

      Hey, it was a good effort, Bo! I thought you had something there.

Leave a Reply

