Summer School

6 Jun

This week I’m starting to advertise summer art lessons/cartoon lessons for anyone interested.  I haven’t taught in awhile, but there was some interest sparked and I decided to do it again.  I also have my own little student union in my kitchen, so it works out well for any students wanting to attend (no, Nate U doesn’t have dorms yet).

Last time I taught, it was to kids from K-5 grade.  All they wanted to do is learn how to draw Sponge Bob.

I majored in art in college and have a few things under my belt, so I can safely say that I can teach basic art lessons.  When any one of interest contacts me, I’m very upfront with my capabilities.  For example, I NEVER promote that I’m a good caricature artist.  I know of a handful of “art teachers” that really don’t have a clue how to work with a certain medium, so I make sure I’m very upfront before getting a new student.  If there’s an area that I’m not specialized in (another example would be airbrushing or finger paints) then I’ll be honest about it.

I have my “cheap” portfolio up as well that shows my style and areas that I work.

I’m used to teaching groups of people at one time, but I’ve done a few one-on-one sessions before as well.  I’m not sure what I prefer, but either way is fine.

So, it’s summer and instead of being up to no good, I think this will be fun to start up again.  I just have my fingers crossed that I don’t get any kids that just want to learn how to draw Justin Bieber caricatures.

4 Responses to “Summer School”

  1. Ron-Yves Strouteau June 7, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    Bring in some nude models—the kids won’t be able to remember who Sponge-Bob is =)

    • Nate Fakes June 7, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

      That might work, or they might draw 2 big boob-bubbles and a feminine Sponge head instead

  2. DadaHyena June 8, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    Best of luck! Teaching is something I thought about, except I think I’d end up too much like Sister Mary Elephant.

    “Class? Claaass?…SHAAAAAAAAAAADDAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHP!!!”

    • Nate Fakes June 9, 2010 at 7:54 am #

      I’ve acted that way a few times. It’s kind of fun!

Leave a Reply

