My Inbox

3 Jun

Doing a lot of freelance work, I’m constantly checking my inbox.  Why?  Because that’s where I can joyfully find news from editors that I’m getting paid.  That’s where – on the opposite side of the spectrum – I can find out where I’m not getting paid.  Either way, that’s how I learn that there’s a job in motion or not.  If there’s something that doesn’t come out of my work from one source, I ship it off to another, and the process continues.

At any given moment I hear from people or editors that are interested in my work.  It can even be from someone whom I haven’t communicated with in months – just out of the blue – they email me about my submission.

So, opening up my inbox can be surprising or devastatingly disheartening when there’s nothing there.

I have my regular emails that I KNOW will continually show up.  Like the ones from Facebook saying, “Binky the Clown would like to be friends on Facebook” (doesn’t have to be Binky, but someone) and also from relatives with FWD’s about everything and anything.

At any rate, it’s always exciting when I find new jobs have actually surfaced and are going to become something (like emails from MAD saying “we’d like to buy….” are always a plus).

It’s hard to think back to the days of telephone and snail mail waiting for responses.  Well, back then, I didn’t have any “jobs” (except numerous day jobs) anyhow.  I was always excited about rejection letters or coupons for Arby’s.

Emails can often make or break the day for me.  It’s weird how just a little message can do so much, or so little.

A lot of the highlights thus far of my freelancing adventure have just appeared out of the blue, so there’s no telling when the next ship – er – email, will arrive with something new.  I can only keep getting on this computer and clicking “inbox” to find out.  And that’s how this process keeps continuing on.

At the end of the day, it’s refreshing to know that there have been some good emails sent by me on this side, and that can lead to a nice refreshing email from the other.  Passing emails back and forth until it’s finished.  Win or lose.  It’s kind of like a big relay race.

So, for every article or comic that you see in papers or elsewhere that you know was done by a freelancer, be aware that they’ve probably experienced this same inbox obsession.  Maybe even you have.  It’s great and at the same time tense and exhilarating.  But it all coincides with the relative flow of a profession in this industry.

It’s typically easier just to look forward to FWD’s or Facebook friend request.

6 Responses to “My Inbox”

  1. Bo Lumpkin June 3, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    May your email always contain good news and may those who keep forwarding stuff to you loses your email address. (Some of it is pretty good but who has time to check it all out?)

    • Nate Fakes June 3, 2010 at 8:42 am #

      Thank you, sir!

      I read a few fwd’s, but typically I don’t have time for them. Usually it’s politics or religion or one of those “If you don’t send this to 20 friends, you will die” emails. Sorry. I’d rather hit the “delete” button. Much more fun!

  2. Bearman June 3, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    If you don’t accept this comment bad things will happen. If you forward this comment to 20 friends, you will get lots of luck.

    • Nate Fakes June 3, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

      Sweet! Just let me know how to FWD comments. I need some luck!

  3. DadaHyena June 5, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    I’m also a freelance artist, and it’s nice to get e-mails from potential clients (although I’m sure you get way more than I do)…except two-thirds of the time the clients either back-out, don’t know what the hell they’re doing or are simply those dreaded Clients from the Deepest Pit of Hell. The stories I could tell ya…

    As for Binky the Clown, he needs all the friends he can get since they canceled “Garfield and Friends”.

    • Nate Fakes June 6, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

      Binky really does need a lot of friends. He hasn’t been employed since that show went off the air in the early 90’s.

Leave a Reply

