Toaster Isn’t Making the Papers

26 May

I’m pretty convinced that Twisted Toaster Tales WILL NOT be appearing in your local papers anytime soon.

I sent out the submissions to pretty much all the major syndicates back in March.

Here’s the results:

Everyone has responded with “They’re really funny!”, “They’re good!” and “We thought it was funny.”  And then it’s followed by “Too dark”, “Can’t sell it” and “Way to dark for papers”.

It’s really frustrating.

I’m happy that I’ve gotten positive responses from the syndicates.  I don’t blame them for not picking them up.  I blame the papers.

I know I’ve rambled about this before, but IT MAKES NO SENSE to me how the front page of the newspapers can have murder, death and violence, but they won’t touch a comic strip that “jokingly” is about a killer toaster and a kid!  I never even have the kid die.  It’s a joke, Sally.  They’re for fun.  Why not try to lure some younger readers to your publication and put a strip like mine in the papers?

And it’s like they have an “acceptable” death chart for the comics, too.

Farside had all kinds of “dark” topics, and those worked.

Spy vs. Spy was syndicated for a while.  That’s about two spy’s trying to kill each other.  That’s okay?

It’s like the papers are taking a step back instead of forward for content in the funny pages.  And it’s at a time when they NEED a change.

I pretty much knew the comics wouldn’t be picked up because of Toaster’s content.  I mostly submitted them to get the response.  And in general, everyone likes them.  But, they won’t sell because papers are too chicken to put them out there.  I might insult some guy who DOESN’T get insulted about reading about a shooting in the local 7-11 robbery.

The upside – they’re continuing in MAD.

I mentioned to all the editors at MAD that I had these out there for submissions, and if anything would have come out of it, they were on board.  (MAD owns the rights to them – of course – so if they would’ve made the papers, it would have the MAD logo in them as well.)  But papers aren’t their venue.  MAD is.

So, I face defeat with Toaster in the papers.  I still have other strips out there being reviewed.  And I’m working on new ones.

It’s still, really frustrating when I know that I have a pretty good comic that could be a daily enjoyment for many people in the papers, but it’s not happening because people will take a deadly toaster too seriously.  I mean, really?  Are they scared that their toaster may start to turn on them?

At any rate – like I said – they can still be read in MAD.  It’s just I have over 100 strips already, and I hate to think the majority of them will just sit in my cupboard and collect dust.  Never read by anyone but me and the dust mites.

So, it’s back to the drawing board.

I’ll still be always putting Toaster into the hands of MAD editors who love and appreciate something that’s FUNNY and know that the readers will embrace “dark” material like mine instead of shun it like the newspapers do.

Now, excuse me while I go put my toaster away because it gave me a dirty look earlier.

7 Responses to “Toaster Isn’t Making the Papers”

  1. Bo Lumpkin May 26, 2010 at 7:31 am #

    Don’t get discouraged. I would love to see real comic books like your “Twisted Toaster Tales” back on the market at reasonable prices so kids could afford to buy them. I read boxes of comics as a kid and everyone thought I was wasting my time. As an adult I have averaged reading 500-1000 pages per week. Why can’t our kids read? Because no one is printing anything fun to read. I am working toward a long time dream of becoming a small (miniscule) publisher. I am saving my money for a digital duplicator so that I can start printing my comics cheeply. I will then try to work on a distribution system.
    Even though local Newspapers are obsolete in my opinion… people still read and would read more if they could find something fun enough and cheap enough.
    Hang in there Nate I am and I am twice your age but I still have a dream.

    • Nate Fakes May 26, 2010 at 7:40 am #

      Thanks, Bo. I’m not discouraged about it. If anything, it’s nice to know that they (syndicate editors) enjoyed the comics. I’m sure if the NEWSPAPERS would go for them, they might have gotten syndicated. It would be great to see a change soon.

      I read a lot as well (actually, quite a bit recently). I think kids really have no clue what good reading material is these days (well, a lot of kids at least) because of internet, video games, etc. It would be nice to see print rebound. I actually read that magazine sales have gone UP with most magazines since Google’s launch. That surprised me!

  2. Bearman May 26, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    Get enough issues of mad with it in there and then you can publish a book “As NOT Seen in Mad Magazine”

  3. DadaHyena May 31, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    Sorry, Nate. Maybe all the syndicates are afraid readers will stop buying toasters, or some such stupid excuse. The American economy is leaning on toast sales, y’know.

    Obviously this situation really sucks, and all of your fellow artists continue to send you moral support until the day we just decide to hold a Feudal revolution and take over the newspapers ourselves.

    It could happen!

    • Nate Fakes June 1, 2010 at 9:36 am #

      You know, that Revolution crosses my head a lot. Let’s do it. I really just want to smack newspapers upside the head. They can’t afford comics because they give out their news FREE online. It’s like they’re digging their own grave. If we took it over, I’d axe the free online content and have probably a good 12 pages of daily comics. Good, eh?

      • DadaHyena June 2, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

        12 pages of comics? Man, now we’re going back to the good ol’ forties funny pages!

        Let’s get this revolution started!

Leave a Reply

