Singled Out

20 May

As this period of trying to get syndicated is rolling along, while I’m waiting for my rejection letters I’ve been cranking out some new material – one-panel comics.

I’ve always preferred strips over the one-panel (in terms of making them).  It probably stems from doing a TON of one-panel gags for the college newspaper back in the day.  However, it’s weird.  I sat back recently and tried to write some up, and what do you know – they’re actually good!  (Well, in my standards good.  That means that they could just as equally suck.)

I’ve been having some fun with them.  And after another four week’s of these puppies – hell – I’ll send them off for another syndication submission.  This will be submission number four within the past four months.  By now they might be considering me a bit stalk-ish.

I’ve noticed that the single-panel comics might have a better chance of syndication than something with reoccurring characters.  The reason – greeting cards.  The one market that isn’t probably ever going to go away.  No matter how many e-cards there are, there probably will always be a market for the cardboard greeting card.  So, the one-panel comics fit in well with that market because they’re basically done already!  All the companies have to do is snatch the comic, paste it on the front of a card and add a catchy text inside and – whalla! – you have a greeting card.

I know syndicates look for only stuff that they can sell.  No matter how good of a comic it is, if they can’t sell it, they don’t want it.  That’s why you see a lot of babies and puppies in the funny pages.  Who doesn’t love babies and puppies, right?

Now, I’m not switching teams.  I’m not going to become a one-panel cartoonist.  But, I am expanding my options.

As long as I’m having some fun doing these, I’ll keep them up.  I already submitted a few of them out there to prospects that actually use my work (like MAD) so I’ll get some feedback from them.

It’s kind of a downtime for me here.  I’ve got three submissions floating out there, only one rejection letter and a few peaks of interest.  So, I’m kind of sitting around waiting for the thumbs up or thumbs down for my syndication endeavor.  But, that doesn’t mean I’m not busy.  This is my chance to really crank out a lot of MAD work, other local publication things that I’m working on and also to continue my work with Knocking On Heavens Door.

I’m still waiting on some magazine submissions as well.  One of the magazines is probably a “go”, but there’s not that final word yet.

So, here’s to some one-panel comics!  Cheers!  I’ll be splattering them on here after they get rejected or tossed in the filing cabinet never to see the light of day again.

5 Responses to “Singled Out”

  1. bearman May 20, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    Look first of all we don’t need more of you talented guys muddying up the single panel waters.

    Second I have the market on any cards that you are late to send (with the exception of birthday cards – some bastard beat me to those)

    • Nate Fakes May 20, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

      Who beat you to birthday cards? Man, you really missed the boat on that one! I get one of those “birthday cards” almost every year.

  2. Bo Lumpkin May 21, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    Sounds like you are definitely putting forth the effort and we all knowyou have the talent so just keep on keeping on.

  3. Brad June 14, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    Sorry to comment so late, I just read this. The reality for single panels is they’re much harder to sell – because there is less room on a comics page. A typical page may contain a dozen strips, but only one or two single panels. The math works against them.

    I don’t mean to be a downer, because I draw a single panel. I can’t hand letter and I hate the comics fonts when applied to strips. The lettering is a lot of the personality.

  4. Nate Fakes June 16, 2010 at 5:44 am #

    You might be right, Brad. I never thought about it in that light.

    On the other side – beyond syndication – I think single panel comics have a better chance in magazines and venues where they don’t want a “series”. And – of course – greeting cards (or un-greeting cards, possibly).

    This post I did was on syndication though, so that is interesting to think of it in that way. I might be way off on my thoughts about single-panels being an easier syndicate draw. Hmm…..

Leave a Reply

