Ohio Observations

17 May

Well, I’m back at the drawing board after completing yet another Ohio trip.

For those of you that don’t know (which is probably pretty much everyone) most of my family lives in the Dayton, Ohio area.  So, that leads to a lot of vacationing up north.

Don’t get Dayton confused with Daytona.  The beaches in Dayton consist of a lot of mud and an occasional dead raccoon.  However, the city has a lot to offer.  For a northern city, that is.

It’s funny how I’ve read in the past several years how Dayton was labeled a “dying city” and nothing good was coming out of there.  I don’t get it, because every trip I make to the area, there’s new things all over the place.

New businesses are sprouting up like mold everywhere.  The only thing that I see dying up in those parts is the grass in the winter time, because it’s freakin’ cold.

All the restraunts in the area were packed.  There’s a new mall that was packed.  And our car was packed – well – because we had luggage.

Seems like there’s a lot more money being tossed around up there than even here in Florida.  So, where’s this dying thing coming into play?

I enjoy it up there.  If I had the best of both worlds, I’d have a studio there and here in St Petersburg (and if we’re talking unrealistically, I’ll toss in a studio at Taco Bell as well – just so I have easy access).

I hope the city IS doing okay and this isn’t some illusion that I just “so-happen-to” witness every trip.  I know a lot of factories have recently shut down, but in the area of retail and restaurants, they seem to be doing great.

I know the city did have better times, but I see it thriving.  Maybe it’s just my vision acting up (stupid contacts) but really – is Dayton “dying”?  Everyone I talked to says no.

So, what’s the moral of this story?  Nothing really.  Just if you happen to live up that way, or visit, what’s your take?  Dead or alive?  I’m confused…

7 Responses to “Ohio Observations”

  1. Bearman May 17, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    everything is relative. Dying compared to what. Compared to some cities it is dying. To others it is thriving.

    • Nate Fakes May 17, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

      Yeah, you’re right. I always hear it but nothings ever really clear what it’s comparing itself too. Usually it’s on those moronic polls (St Pete is still labeled something like “almost dead” I believe compared to Florence, Kentucky…or something like that) that you see online.

      I think it’s thriving.

  2. DadaHyena May 17, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    You live in St. Petersburg?

    Should I be calling you “Comrade Nate”?

    • Nate Fakes May 18, 2010 at 8:44 am #

      Lol. Sure. That’s a good title! 🙂

  3. Bo Lumpkin May 18, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    Now that is really unusual… a guy lives in Florida and vacations up North. You might get a few comic strips out of that one Nate.

    • Nate Fakes May 18, 2010 at 8:44 am #

      Dayton makes a great vacation spot! Just when I lived there, I wanted out all of the time because it was cold. Hmm…there could be a comic strip there somewhere

      • Bo Lumpkin May 19, 2010 at 5:29 am #

        I guess I have the problem of lookin’ for the funny and trying to make a comic strip out of everything in life. (I sure have fun though).

Leave a Reply

