Syndication Update

4 May

I mentioned awhile back HERE that I was sending out a handful of submissions for syndication.

So far, I’ve actually gotten some positive responses, a couple of rejections letters and a big handful of “nothing at all”.

Therefore, I’ve got another submission going out this week consisting of another new concept I’ve had in the works.  Within two week’s, I was able to draw, ink and finalize enough for a four week submission and two Sunday’s.  “And boy is my hand tired!” I can easily hear a joke here.

I’m not going to bank on the work that I have out there already.  I just keep moving on until I get a phone call.  Or fax.  Or email…..someone just please get a hold of me!

It’s frustrating trying to figure out exactly “what will click”, but I’m somewhat figuring it out (I think).  It’s all just the process of elimination.  Although, when I read some of the other material that is syndicated, it throws me off course a bit.

Like I mentioned, I heard some positive responses from some syndicates.

“I will try to get back to you next week with some sort of answer. (It will not be a form letter, though. That’s good, right?)” says one response.

“While it certainly has appeal, unfortunately, we don’t feel we can successfully sell this feature to enough newspapers to make it worthwhile for print syndication.” says another.

Hey, they’re personalized responses, right?  I’ll take it.  Even a personalized “NO” is better than nothing.

What I try to tell every syndicate is that I’m willing to bend – if need be – the material to make it work.  So, if there is a particular issue (with content, drawings, etc.) I can easily doctor it up so it would work.  I don’t know if I’m getting that concept through though.  Hmmm?

At any rate, I’m keeping at these submissions.  It’s all material that I would enjoy doing in the long run, and I’ve spent months compiling ideas for this big “Submission Party”.

I’ll let you know if something hits.

In the meantime, it’s party time.  Submission Party time!

9 Responses to “Syndication Update”

  1. Bearman May 4, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    I remember in college sending out scores of resumes. I cheered if they even sent me a form letter rejection. If they signed it in actual pen that was a bonus.

  2. Nate Fakes May 4, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    I hear you. That’s a definite plus! If they spell my name right I’m happy!

  3. Bo Lumpkin May 5, 2010 at 5:52 am #

    I remember once getting a personal letter rejecting a story I sent to a magazine. I wish I had framed it. It was the best rejection slip I ever got.

    • Nate Fakes May 5, 2010 at 9:08 am #

      Those long, drawn-out rejection letters are the best. You open it, and first thing you notice is how long it is, so you start to think, “Oh Boy! Could this be something! They have a lot to say!” and then BAM! Nope.

  4. DadaHyena May 10, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    I think one of the saddest days for me as a young adult was realizing that I had a snowball’s chance in hell of getting a comic syndicated; I had begun drawing in the first place in hopes of one day getting in to newspaper comics.

    I think your work is definitely good enough to get a syndicate interested (that, and you’ve got prior experience with getting your comics published), but yeah, it’s a tough road. You put so much of your heart into your work, only to have a lot of people not care.

    Well…that bummed me out. I’m off to read “Knocking on Heavens Door”. That should cheer me up!

    • Nate Fakes May 10, 2010 at 10:59 am #

      I hear ya! There’s a lot of luck involved (I think). I’ve been chatting with syndicated cartoonist, and they don’t really go by what’s “good” – the go buy what they can sell. So, that’s why you see a lot of puppies and kids in the strips. My newest submission is along those lines – but with a twist. I’m hoping they like them.

      • DadaHyena May 10, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

        Best of luck! I’m sending some good psychic vibes your way.

  5. bearman May 13, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    Since you already have them going out, you may want to check out this contest.

    http://views.washingtonpost.com/cartoonist/2010/05/official_rules_1/all.html

Leave a Reply

