News and Notes

9 Apr

Yeah, I thought that would make this post with a catchy-title on here.  It makes it seem like there’s something important going on, but really it’s false advertising.  “News and Notes”.  What news?

However, I thought I’d fill you on what has been happening on the drawing table here and what’s new.  I don’t think I have any “notes” to share though.

This past week I finished up another MAD project.  So far, I think (hard to tell sometimes) I’ll be in the next two issues (not counting the current one that’s out, that I have some comics in).  I have all of the material done for the magazine, but I’m not certain when it will be published in the actual issues.  However, I’ve got two separate comics finished and sold, so they have them for whenever they would like to spread the stupidity.

I’m taking full advantage of MAD going bi-monthly by sending them something new at least a couple of times per week.  I’m surprised they haven’t marked my messages as SPAM or consider me a bit stalkish.

Beyond MAD, I’ve got three very exciting projects in the works.

For fear of jinxing any of them – my lips (or my typing skills) are sealed.  What a jerk I am for even mentioning them then, huh?  Sorry about that.

I’ll let you know if there’s any “breaking news” – or just something breaking.

Honestly, this has been a great week, and next week is going to be very interesting in terms of these secret projects.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned about this industry is that you never speak of anything actually happening until it really does or the paycheck arrives.  Even something that seems like a sure thing often times isn’t, so you just never know until it happens.  I’ve been duped many times, so I’m used to it.  You just move on.

But – I’m happy.  And I’ll let you know on here exactly what the results of the projects are – even if nothing except a free car wash comes from them (that would actually be awesome this time of year).

In the meantime, I’m back on the drawing board working on the usual and as much extra as possible.

OTHER NEWS:

Check out the award-winning fan art we have over at KOHD!  There’s been some great stuff coming in.  Thanks to all who have participated, or that would still like to.  We’re always accepting more.

Become a fan of I Love the Burg if you would like to read the Sunday local comics.  They post them on Facebook, so it’s all free.

For now, I’ll stop with that.  There’s A LOT more going on, but I don’t want to jinx things, as I mentioned.  So, let’s just say that there’s A LOT of Easter candy being eaten still.

There.

4 Responses to “News and Notes”

  1. Bearman April 9, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    Great tell me that you have news that you can’t tell me…ugh.

    • Nate Fakes April 10, 2010 at 9:18 am #

      Sorry, sir. I CAN, however, tell you the news that I had a frozen pizza for lunch!

  2. Bo Lumpkin April 10, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    Looks like things are going well. Sometimes success comes dressed up like hard work and it looks like you recognized it.

Leave a Reply

