Go, Monkey, GO!

30 Mar

Many of you may have heard about the Mystery Monkey running around Tampa Bay.  The elusive monkey has been on the run now for over a year.  A YEAR!  This thing has some serious monkey brains to make it that long around these parts.


At any rate,  this primate is the biggest celebrity around here at the moment.  Sightings of him cause more paparazzi to chase after him than Michael Jackson did back in the day.  Michael Jackson was probably a bit more elusive than this monkey though.

He has a Facebook fan page with over 60,000 fans.

This thing has been shot with numerous tranquilizer darts, but somehow, it just shakes them off.  In fact, it’s said that it’s built up quite the immune system from them, because they keep boosting the dosage in them, but to no avail.  The monkey swings on.

I did a comic about it awhile back for a local publication in town.  No real punchline to it or anything, however, I just have to wonder what this monkey does in his downtime.

At any rate, I hope the monkey is enjoying its freedom here in St Petersburg.  I can only think it does, since it doesn’t seem to want captured anytime soon.

5 Responses to “Go, Monkey, GO!”

  1. Bo Lumpkin March 31, 2010 at 6:39 am #

    I wonder why people are so fascinated by Monkeys? Great gag… maybe you should do it again with an animal control uniform on the guy next to him.

    • Nate Fakes March 31, 2010 at 8:39 am #

      Seriously, that would’ve made this comic so much better! Good call. When I did this, it was really last second to make publication by the next day, so I didn’t have an absorbent amount of time to dwell on it. Great idea though!

      • Bo Lumpkin April 1, 2010 at 11:44 am #

        I hope you didn’t misunderstand. I am never critical of real cartoonist because I can’t draw flies. When I see something my head goes into overdrive and I am too stupid to keep my mouth shut. I really enjoy your stuff and admire your work.

      • Nate Fakes April 1, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

        Bo, I didn’t take it the wrong way at all. I never use other peoples ideas, but – like I mentioned – I thought this one needed more of a punchline, and with what you suggested that would’ve added a nice element to it.

        Glad you enjoy the work and never feel stupid about opening up your mouth around here. That’s why I started this stupid blog! 🙂

  2. Stripy-Artist April 2, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    It’s apparently important enough for a Wikipedia article. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mystery_Monkey_of_Tampa_Bay

Leave a Reply

