Watch Those Streets

27 Mar

This time of year, it’s always fun to live downtown St Petersburg, Florida.  No, it’s not because of the sunny skies, retirement community or the knowledge of knowing that ‘The Happiest Place On Earth’ is just a skip-and-a-hop away (even though I contend that ‘The Happiest Place On Earth’ is actually Steak and Shake – which is a giant leap away).

Nope.

It’s Indy race time!

That’s right.  This time of year, the Grand Prix is downtown racing through my neighborhood.

It generally starts on Thursday, and then wraps up after the big race on Sunday.

I haven’t been to any of the pre-race events yet.  Heck, I’m not even a race fan.  However, when there are Indy cars flying past your window at 100 + miles per hour, it’s only natural to take notice.

I enjoy this event.  It’s something new, and it’s funny to hear the older neighbors complain about “all the noise”.  Really, there’s a lot of it (noise).  Sounds like a hornets nest that just got whacked with a can of Raid continuously through the whole four days.

I try to fit in with all the race fans.  You know, I wear a t-shirt, jeans and try to act like I know all about the cars and things.

“LoOoOk!  The cars are fast.”  I’ll say.

And the people next to me slowly lean back, give me a funny look, nod and walk away.

We (wife and friends) are going to watch the race tomorrow from a club house that overlooks the entire track.  That means it’s free and we won’t have to scarf up any bread for tickets.  Plus, it’ll be BYOB so we can have our picks of tasty treats.

I’ll fill you in on how it goes.  I’m guessing it’ll go by fast.  Get it?  Fast?

Okay, I’m done….

4 Responses to “Watch Those Streets”

  1. Bearman March 27, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    There was a guy who used a ponzi scheme saying he was going to get a similar race in Cincinnati.

    • Nate Fakes March 27, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

      Couldn’t do it this time of year there. Too much ice.

  2. Bo Lumpkin March 29, 2010 at 5:21 am #

    We don’t have anything like that around here. Just 4-wheel drives at around 80mph with their radios turned all the way up. It’s free too.

    • Nate Fakes March 29, 2010 at 7:14 am #

      Race was postponed yesterday, so it’s free today. Don’t think I can make it though….

Leave a Reply

