Gotta Start Somewhere

21 Mar

While in Kansas, we (wife and I) stayed at my grandmas house for the duration of the visit.  She has some unexpected “finds” lying around.  One of them was found in a box labeled ‘Nate’.  I figured it would be full of Transformers or old Ninja Turtles or some old pizza boxes, but to my surprise, there was a bit more.  An item with a little less value.

It was my first PAYING job as a cartoonist I ever had!

Back when I was in 5th grade (around 1915 or so) there was a drawing contest amongst my class for the cover of the elementary school yearbook (K-5).

At the time, I was doing this comic strip during class (yes, instead of that lousy studying or anything) that involved a superhero duck.  I think I called him ‘The Caped Anger’ or something like that.  At any rate, for some odd reason I thought the duck would relate well with the other students for a yearbook cover.  After all, it was a contest that counted on votes to win, so I had to impress people with the same mentality of my age.   I guess our mentality of that age was that of ducks.

Well, amazingly I won!

I was paid five smackers for this puppy.  Big money for a 5th grader.  THIS, was my first paying job (and biggest paying job for many years to follow).

I believe this is the only copy left (as far as I know).  I thought I should probably snap a picture of the yearbook while I had a chance.  I left the actual yearbook at grandmas because – knowing  me – I’d lose it if it was in my hands.

Looking back at the art on this, it was pretty awful.  But, somehow I was considered ‘the artist’ of my classmates.  I can just see from my yearbook cover that my full potential was about to eventually shine in the future.  When that will happen, I have no clue.  This yearbook cover is better than some of the current work I’m currently  cranking out.

Surprisingly, I never received a “call back” to do another yearbook cover after this.  Why?  I’m trying to figure that out myself.

6 Responses to “Gotta Start Somewhere”

  1. Bearman March 21, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    This is great. My mom still has some of my early stuff. I look back and wonder how I lost my talent.

    • Nate Fakes March 21, 2010 at 9:04 am #

      I try to figure that out myself. I always thought drawing was like riding your bike – you never forget how to do it. Then I look at some of the comics I do (sigh)

  2. Clearnce Fakes March 21, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    I think the year book cover you did while in grade school was VERY GOOD!
    Glad you made it to Kansas and had good weather while here.
    Love Unk

    • Nate Fakes March 21, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

      Well thank you, Clearance!

      The weather was good. Looks as though we brought snow when we left though, huh?

  3. Bo Lumpkin March 22, 2010 at 6:28 am #

    Maybe you should consider designing Year Books for a living. Looks good to me.

    • Nate Fakes March 22, 2010 at 7:20 am #

      ‘Nate’s Yearbooks’. Hmmm….that could be marketable. I’ll keep it in mind : )

Leave a Reply

