Pitch This

19 Mar

I’ve been working hard on a lot of new projects.  Everything from MAD Magazine material, magazine comics and local work.  The biggest thing I’m currently working on right now is a concept for a syndicated comic strip.  So, I’m putting together the normal 4-week samples and I’m going to pitch the hell out of it to syndicates.

I’m not expecting any of them to bite though.

Syndication takes a little bit of luck, and possibly medication (on the syndicates part) to get picked up.  I am still pretty clueless to what exactly they’re looking for with the “freshest, newest comic!”, but I’ve got a few areas I’m covering.

With my syndication quest, I’m going to be pitching 3 different comics in 3 months.  If one falls flat on its face, I’ve got another strip locked and loaded and I can just pull the trigger and shoot them with another shot.

I’ve got my MAD strips being looked at for syndication as well, but given the dark nature of those, I doubt anything will come of it.  But my editor says it’s okay to have them look at it so, eh – why not?  Maybe they’ll realize soon that they need newer, edgier material in the paper to attract young readers, but who knows.

So, it’s a big comic extravaganza going on over here for pitching new material!  On top of all of this, I’ve got all my current work that is still being made.

I’ve been keeping busy, but I’m anxious for a new gig so I can easily pay my electric bill.  Syndication would be nice, even if I make about $60 a month (that would cover the electric bill).  Maybe more would be nice as well.

I’ll be standing on the pitchers mound over the next several months.  Which in my case, is the mailbox and internet.

Updates will follow if anything comes out of this.  I might even buy suckers for everyone reading if I can catch a break.

5 Responses to “Pitch This”

  1. Bo Lumpkin March 19, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    I wish you lots of luck on the syndication. Do you have a webcomic? I see your comments all the time but I have never been able to find a comic. I can never find a Mad Magazine either, even in the bookstores, so that must mean they are selling out before the next issue comes out. I really believe there is a market for humor if the publishers would just wake up.

    • Nate Fakes March 19, 2010 at 8:59 am #

      Thank you, sir. Right now, I’m on hiatus from any web cartooning. I AM the illustrator for Knocking On Heavens Door (www.kohdcomic.com) that is written by comedian Tommy Blaze. Beyond that, I’m working on print instead of web work.

      MAD is out on the shelves, but they do sell quick sometimes, or in many cases, hard to find. Look behind a few Tiger Beats. They tend to hide there sometimes

  2. Bearman March 19, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    a. How do you keep such a low electric bill?

    b. I have a 5th idea if one through four don’t work out.

    • Nate Fakes March 19, 2010 at 9:00 am #

      A: Florida, and electric is included with rent

      B: I’m guessing 1-4 WON’T work out, so I’ll be asking for that 5th one soon, I’m sure

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Syndication Update « Nate's Ramblings - May 4, 2010

    […] « In Cold Blood Syndication Update May 4, 2010 I mentioned awhile back HERE that I was sending out a handful of submissions for […]

Leave a Reply

