Good News and MAD

12 Mar

Today I read the news via Tom Richmond blog that MAD Magazine is going bi-monthly starting with issue 504!

In case you don’t know, right now MAD is quarterly.  That’s only 4 issues a year.  A little hard to be quite as current as any many other magazines.

I’ll take 6-issues a year over four!  What’s exciting about it is that it shows that MAD has rebounded.  This could maybe lead to a lot more substantial MAD things, like their website and so-forth.  Maybe even at some point they can bounce back to 12 issues a year.

For personal reasons, this means more possibilities to get my work in the issues.  There’s a lot more to compete with when only four issues are out a year (in terms of material that’s put in the magazine).

I was just really happy to hear this.  I’m happy for the staff over there and all the other contributors as well.

I hope this puts those rumors from people saying MAD was dead to a halt.  MAD is alive and well.

Viva la stupidity!

3 Responses to “Good News and MAD”

  1. Bearman March 12, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    Viva la Nate. They must have had a lot of pre sales when everyone found out you were finally in the issue. They have to ramp up more issues b/c of demand.

    • Nate Fakes March 12, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

      I figured it would be the opposite effect once everyone found out I was in there!

  2. Bo Lumpkin March 17, 2010 at 8:24 am #

    I certainly hope Mad makes a comeback. When I was a kid you could buy them everywhere… just like real comic books. Now I don’t even see Mad in bookstores. Growing up, Alfred E. was my hero.

Leave a Reply

