Nostalgia This

18 Oct

I have no clue why but recently I’ve been struck with the persistent thoughts of nostalgia.  Again, I’m not too certain why.  And I’m not sure if it’s just nostalgia or the recognizing of places of my past disappearing.  Quickly.

I’ve written about my old birth town of Northwood, Ohio before in my award-winning blog post The Great Fall of Northwood Ohio.  Since creating that post back in November of last year, things have gone from bad to worse in that small, declining community.  Hell, Northwood is just about wiped-off the map now (well, it would seem).  The decline worsens and I can’t help but think of what a bustling little community it once was.

Now, all that being said, I haven’t actually been up there to visit in a bit.  Actually, it’s been quite awhile.  But, on occasion I like to Google things.  So, for s$%*s and giggles, I Googled ‘Woodville Mall Northwood Ohio’.  Yikes.

The place that once was hard to even find a parking spot in, well, the whole thing is getting demolished.

My feeling about it?  It’s weird.  I don’t care so much in the sense that even if they remained open or whatever, I doubt I would head up to the mall to shop or anything.  Hell, I probably wouldn’t even visit.  It’s just I again feel like something else I grew up with is outta here.  So, the option of going to visit soon wont be possible.  And I like options.

Recently in December 2011, my grandmother died.  Obviously her loss was hard enough and I won’t get into that.  But, along with it, the town she lived in (Haven, Kansas) I remember thinking that I would probably never be back to.  At least I don’t have a reason to go back to it.  And that town, wow…I rode my bike through its entirety probably a million times (I’m bad at math but you get the point).  I also used to know practically the whole area, people places, etc. It was obviously a regular visit around that holidays and such.  At any rate, I probably wont be going back to Haven anytime soon.  And even if I did, it’s not going to be the same.

But, it’s another thing wiped off the map for me.

Even little things like in my old town of Lindsborg, Kansas, there used to be railroad tracks that went through town.  There would be about 30 + trains per day roaring through there.  And now, those tracks are gone.  All torn up.  And I used to enjoy watching those trains (actually, my friends and I all had fond memories of killing time by hanging around the tracks smashing pennies).  And it’s like, who cares?  I wouldn’t go to that town now to watch trains, but again, just knowing it’s not an option kinda bothers me.  Maybe I’m just strange like that.

I mean, I know better.  And I’m not trying to reflect like some old sap in one of those movies you see with the whole thing reflecting on the past.  I’m not that guy.

And I get it.  Naturally, when a person ages (like we all do) things disappear, become less-significant and are soon out of our norm.  But boy – stuff is disappearing quicker than sunshine in Dayton, Ohio (sorry for the bad analogy, but it’s fall around here now).

So, I’m hoping to get off this nostalgia bender.  It’s not a sad thing or whatever, but just kind of annoying me that I find myself thinking about a lot of it a lot.  And it’s all slowly disappearing.  BUT, with the stuff that disappears, new places and things emerge.  And thus, the cycle repeats.  Just the constant knowing of the old possibilities of visiting and experiencing stuff I grew up on is out.

At any rate, I’ll have a nice, vacant lot soon probably full of an old, cracked parking lot where the Woodville Mall once stood that I can go reflect on.  And the good news is I wont have to spend a dollar (considering there wont be any shops to spend money at).

 

5 Responses to “Nostalgia This”

  1. allison3780 October 19, 2013 at 6:44 am #

    I can completely identify. I grew up in Paris, Illinois and that little town has changed it’s face drastically since I left in 2003. The downtown is practically closed and the houses are falling to ruin. My folks still live there, so I visit every few years. It is sad to see the once popular places closed down or sold off. The other thing that blows my mind is how small my hometown seems now. Growing up, I felt I had access to everything I needed. But honestly, had we had better services available, like good internet, I would have had more opportunities in life. Paris is still 10 years behind everyone else, and it makes me sad that my little town hasn’t grown with the changes in technology.

    Anyway, thanks for the post and the bit of nostalgia. Have a great weekend!

    • w101njfNate October 24, 2013 at 9:05 am #

      Yea, it’s kind of a bummer how some places get so bad. But, that’s the way it goes. At least there are SOME things still the same (like my childhood home is still in one piece….so far).

      Hope your weekend (week…whatever it may be if you’re reading) is also well!

  2. Sandra October 19, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

    I know what you mean. Even the church I got married in is gone. Along with every other place associated with it (reception hall, restaurants, everything. Huh. Even the marriage. Go figure). Not easy sometimes seeing change–but I am happy now seeing my former sorority (I was in it three months) as a parking lot. :-)

    • w101njfNate October 24, 2013 at 9:05 am #

      Well, at leas the sorority had a happy ending! :)

      • Sandra October 24, 2013 at 10:38 am #

        Agreed!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

